October 24, 2016

Greiner wins ENS finale, Leino is Champion


Dominic Greiner has won the season finale of the Euro Nitro Series but it is Teemu Leino who claimed the biggest prize with 6th in a rain shortened A-Main in Fiorano enough to crown him the 2016 1:10 Champion.  Top Qualifier for the race, a heavy crash with Marc Rheinard would leave Greiner with a difficult car for the final but strategy and quick work by his pit crew would allow the Serpent driver to take his first win of the season.  With the race going 40 of the scheduled 45-minutes, the World Champion’s second ENS win would come ahead of title contender Eric Dankel, the fast closing Mugen driver finishing 4-second off when the race was stopped.  Having led for a time in first half of the race, last year’s race winner Alessio Mazzeo was to complete the podium at Mini Autodromo Jody Scheckter.  Starting second on the grid, while Leino never needed to win the race to secure the title he didn’t make things easy for himself with an early off that resulting in a flameout and the loss of 2-laps raising the heart rates of his Team Infinity crew.  Keeping his composure and a close eye on the progress of points leader coming into the weekend Dirk Wischnewski, the Finn would recover from 11th with the fastest lap of the race to finish 6th.  With Wischnewski finishing 4th, this was enough for Leino to take the title by 3-points from the German with Dankel’s second giving him 3rd a further 1-point back.

Continue reading this report here or view our full event coverage here.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: