October 6, 2016

Traugott Schär crowned Swiss 200mm National Champ

Traugott Schär crowned Swiss 200mm National Champ

The sixth and final round of the Swiss 1/10th 200mm Nitro Touring Championship was held in Sitterdorf. Going into the final round it was Raphael Wicki who lead the championship with Traugott Schär also having the chance to take the overall title. Unfortunately the weather had different plans than to offer the pilots a nice weekend of racing and so the first three qualifiers were held on a wet track with Q4 being the only one to be run on a dry track. Michael Schäfer would take a maiden TQ in a National Championship race in front of Raphael Wicki. Traugott Schär came in third from nitro newbee Oliver Krähemann.

Sunday came and the track was still soaking wet. Raphael Wicki had bad luck in his semifinal with his mechanic doing a longer distance than his car as the heavy rain caused so many flameout that he was not able to proceed to the A-main. Philipp Bühler though had a perfect run that got him a spot in the main final and also Patrick Fankhauser, Marco Tanner, Dominik Mucnjak and Marco Schwab bumped up to the A-main. In the second semi Michael Schaefer took the win from Cedric Ansermoz, Traugott Schär, Kevin Lehnerr and Flavio Zehnder. Just before the main final the rain finally stopped and Traugott Schär and his pit crew decided to go out on damp tyres rather than on “heavy wets” and ultimately this would prove to be the right decision. Traugott’s car was a bit difficult to driver but way faster than his competitor’s cars and so he would take the win from Patrick Fankhauser and Michael Schäfer.

Final results:
1. Traugott Schär – Xray
2. Patrick Fankhauser – Xray
3. Michael Schäfer – Xray
4. Marco Schwab – Shepherd
5. Cédric Ansermoz – Capricorn
6. Flavio Zehnder – Serpent
7. Marco Tanner – Shepherd
8. Philipp Bühler – Xray
9. Dominik Mucnjak – Shepherd
10.Kevin Lehnherr – Xray

Overall in the championship with his win at the final round and Raphael Wicki not making the main it was Traugott Schär who walked away with the title from Raphael Wicki and Patrick Fankhauer.

Championship top 10 results:
1. Traugott Schär – Xray
2. Raphael Wicki – Xray
3. Patrick Fankhauser – Xray
4. Michael Schäfer – Xray
5. Maurice Lüscher – Xray
6. Philipp Bühler – Xray
7. Theo Giannakos – Serpent
8. Roger Fasler – Xray
9. Jakob Bühler – Xray
10.Marco Tanner – Shepherd

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: