November 3, 2016

Alexander Landen successful at Winter Cup Rd1

Alexander Landen successful at Winter Cup Rd1

The opening round of the Winter Cup was held at the HB Orion track in the small town of Kallinge, Sweden. The 4WD Buggy qualifying was won by young Malin Karlsen who took a convincing TQ from Jessica Palsson and Alexander Landen, the latter two having nice battles in the qualifiers with the runner-up spot narrowly going to Jessica. These three plus fourth placed Johan Balsberg would be in the mix for the overall win and the opening A-main would start quite uneventful with Jessica having a bobble on the first lap, allowing Alexander by. Up front Malin would stretch the lead and she would take the win with a comfortable margin from Alexander and Jessica.

The second leg saw an early incident where Alexander was taken out, ending dead last but he was able to recover to fourth while Malin made a mistake and was also handed as stop and go so she would finish third with the win going to Jessica followed by Johan who was really picking up in pace. This meant there were four drivers that could take the overall win going into the final A-main. Just before the start of the main, disaster stroke for Alexander when he and another driver collided mid-air during the warm-up laps, resulting in a broken A-arm on Alex’s car. He was given a time-out for the repair but had to start dead last on the grid. The start then again went pretty uneventful with Alexander soon moving up the order while up front the fight was on between Malin and Jessica with both making contact which promoted Alexander in to the lead. With two girls having their own race, Johan was able to take profit of the situation, eventually passing both and going for the hunt of Alexander up front. With the latter having a huge lead Johan could only watch and wait but Alexander would bring home the win and with it the overall victory from Malin in second and Jessica in third.

4WD final results:
1. Alexander Landén – Xray
2. Malin Karlsen – Xray
3. Jessica Pålsson – Kyosho
4. Johan Balsberg – Xray
5. Hampus Berg – HB Racing
6. Bastian Randau – Kyosho
7. Timmy Johansson – HB Racing
8. Jonas Johansson – Kyosho

Source: Xray []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: