December 16, 2016

XRS Challenge Australia – Report

The XRS Challenge Australia was recently held at the Castle Hill club with entries having to be capped at 140 a week before the race to make sure the event could be held with a reasonable time schedule. The sugar-prepped track made for great traction and the layout was fast and challenging with many jumps, table tops and even a massive quad. Racing-wise the 2WD Modified Buggy A-final saw Josh Pain (Team Associated) taking the win from Jarred King (Xray) and Andrew Gilliott (TLR) in second and third respectively.

2WD Modified final results:
1. Josh Pain – Team Associated
2. Jarred King – Xray
3. Andrew Gillott – TLR
4. Matt Kellett – Team Associated
5. Cale Wilson – TLR
6. Ari Bakla – Xray
7. Bradd Vercoe – Team Associated
8. Simon Roberts – Yokomo
9. Josh Mason – Team Associated
10.David Warner – Yokomo
11.Paul Shannon – Kyosho

4WD Modified Buggy again had Josh Pain (SWorkz) coming out fastest from Jarred King (Xray) while Andrew Gillott (TLR) in third made for a blue print of the 2WD Mod Buggy top 3 result.

4WD Modified final results:
1. Joshua Pain – SWorkz
2. Jarred King – Xray
3. Andrew Gillott – TLR
4. Ari Bakla – Xray
5. Cale Wilson – TLR
6. Ronan Thomson – TLR
7. Josh Mason – Team Associated
8. Nathaniel White – Team Associated
9. Paul Shannon – Kyosho
10.Simon Roberts – Yokomo
11.Lhor Chaichanachimplee – SWorkz

The 2WD Stock A-finals had Lachlan Donnelly taking the day’s win from Chris Jordan and Chris Wilson while Jimmy Koimanis and David Matthews completed the top 5 result.

2WD Stock final results:
1. Lachlan Donnelly – Team Associated
2. Chris Jordan – Team Associated
3. Chris Wilson – TLR
4. Jimmy Koimanis – Team Associated
5. David Matthews – Team Associated
6. Luke Rich – Xray
7. Ron Curby – Team Associated
8. Nic Jolly – n/a
9. Brad Stafford – n/a
10.Robert Uljan – Team Associated
11.Trent Johnson – Team Associated

In 4WD Stock Buggy it was again Lachlan Donnelly who came out fastest in the A-final from Chris Wilson in second and Jimmy Koimanis third.

4WD Stock final results:
1. Lachlan Donnelly – Team Associated
2. Chris Wilson  – n/a
3. Jimmy Koimanis – Xray
4. Trent Johnson – Team Associated
5. Luke Rich – Xray
6. Ron Curby – Xray
7. Brad Stafford – n/a
8. David Matthews – Tamiya
9. Robert Uljan – Team Associated
10.Nic Jolly – TLR
11.Jack Grey – Xray

2WD Junior Stock saw Aden Young scoring in the A-final while Jason Rior and Isaac Matthews had to settle for second and third respectively.

2WD Junior Stock final results:
1. Aden Young – Xray
2. Jason Prior – n/a
3. Isaac Matthews – Team Associated
4. Dominic Pitt – n/a
5. Tristen Rich – Xray

Finally in Short Course Truck it was Matt Kellett to leave Alex John and Sam Saad behind in second and third respectively.

Short Course Truck final results:
1. Matt Kellett
2. Alex John
3. Sam Saad
4. Lhor Chaichanachimplee
5. Grant Michelmore
6. Nathaniel White
7. Simon Roberts
8. Grant Robinson
9. Payden Budden
10.Marc Brunker

Source: Xray []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: