January 17, 2017

Kosciuszek & Borkowicz win at Spring Super Cup Rd1

The opening round of the Spring Super Cup Series kicked off the year with nearly 220 entries from all over Florida and the east coast in attendance for Florida’s first major race on astroturf. The weekend started off with some unscheduled rain on Friday, but luckily for the racers, round 1 was held at the massively covered Beachline Raceway in Cocoa Beach. After Saturday morning practice, racers had one qualifying round that started at 12:30pm and another round on Sunday morning. Typically, the Super Cup is a one-day affair and with only two qualifiers using both rounds to determine your overall starting position, every round of qualifying is important to make it into the A-mains. The racing was exciting and everyone got to experience a new type of racing on the astroturf. There is definitely a learning curve to running on the high grip astro, but most took it in strides and had a great time. In 2WD Modified, Florida native and local superstar Daimon Borkowicz (Team Associated) was able to TQ over teammates, Alex Kosciuszek, Paul Wynn, JR Mitch, and Jason Ruona. Unfortunately for Borkowicz, he had a poor start in the main only to battle back to regain 2nd. Taking full advantage of Borkowicz’s poor start, Alex Kosciuszek (Team Associated) would run away from the field and take the win on his first trip to Florida. Rounding out the top 3 was AE’s Paul Wynn.

4WD Modified was dominated by Team Associated’s Daimon Borkowicz in qualifying giving the youngster the tops spot in the main. As the 4WD cars are quite challenging to race on the high bite surface, the main was a lot closer than expected between Xray’s Landen Lewis and Borkowicz. Lewis would make a mistake on the last lap giving the lead back to Borkowicz allowing Borkowicz to take the win and Lewis second. TLR’s JR Mitch would round out the top 3 with a strong drive to finish third.

It was great to see Modified Trucks in action as the battle was close between Xray’s Landen Lewis, Leon Mcintosh and Chad Eubanks. Mcintosh would secure the overall TQ position, but it was Lewis who would shine and take the win with Mcintosh playing chaser and finish second only 0.5 seconds back. Eubanks would finish in third to round out the top 3.

In the Expert Stock Buggy class, Team Associated’s AJ Marasco was able to take the TQ from front runners like Xray’s Daniel Chavez, Alan Wight, Lee Setser. With a horrible start in the main, Marasco miraculously recovered from 8th to recapture first place and hold on to take the win. Patrick Rossiter (Team Associated) would come from 8th on the grid to finish second with Daniel Chavez third for the A-main final. More results can be found here.

Source: JConcepts [jconcepts.net]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: