January 26, 2017

Lee & Chiang successful at Urban Astro Buggy Champs

Singapore’s electric buggy racing season flagged off this past weekend at the first round of the 2017 Urban Astro Buggy Championships. Run at Urban PlaySpace in downtown Singapore, racers were greeted with a track layout sporting a new wall-ride as well as an elevated straight. In the 2WD class, Esmail Apandi (Xray) TQ’ed in front of Nicholas Lee (Yokomo) and Kamen Koh (Serpent). In the finals, Esmail took the leg 1 win after an early mistake by Nicholas. In leg 2, Nicholas bounced back with a win as Esmail tumbled in the tricky front-double section. With Kamen finishing second in both legs 1 and 2, there would be a 3-way showdown in the final leg. A3 then was a close affair with Esmail holding the early lead after mistakes by Nicholas dropped him to fourth. Never giving up, Nicholas put in a masterclass performance to close rapidly on Esmail. At 90 seconds remaining, Nicholas took advantage of a small opening as Esmail ran wide to take the lead. Nicholas held off the determined Esmail to win an exciting Leg, taking the overall win.

2WD Buggy final results:
1. Nicholas Lee – Yokomo
2. Esmail Apandi – Xray
3. Kamen Koh – Serpent
4. Marc Seow – Xray
5. Terence Low – SWorkz
6. Thomas Teo – Serpent
7. Didee – PR
8. Fazly – PR
9. Colin Tong – Yokomo

In the 4WD class, Nicholas Lee (Yokomo) TQ’ed on a tie-break from Dennis Chiang (Xray), with Kamen Koh (Serpent) in third. In the opening final, Dennis took the win in front of Nicholas as Nicholas lost his pole position advantage early on when he landed on his roof in the tricky down ramp chicane section. In leg 2, Nicholas looked to be on his way to a come-back win when his servo gave up on him, handing Dennis the win and with it an early overall victory. In leg 3, Kamen was victorious while Marc Seow (Xray) earned the runner-up spot.

4WD Buggy final results:
1. Dennis Chiang – Xray
2. Kamen Koh – Serpent
3. Marc Seow – Xray
4. Nicholas Lee – Yokomo
5. Terence Low – SWorkz
6. Joe Hwee – Schumacher
7. Didee – PR
8. Ismail Saheeb – Xray
9. Mohd Noh – Yokomo
10.Almie – Xray
11.Fazly – Intech

Thanks to HJ Quek for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: