January 16, 2017

Quek successful at Malaysia National Champs Rd1

The opening round of the 2017 Malaysia National Championships was held at the Mutiara Rini circuit with a turnout of more than 80 racers making it a very competitive race. In the Modified class, Singapore’s Dominic Quek (Xray) set the early pace in qualifying with a TQ run in round 1. He would repeat the performance in round 2, but would not improve on his Q1 run as the traction conditions worsened due to the hotter temperatures. Malaysia’s Azri Amri (Xray) TQ’d Q3 but did not improve on Dominic’s Q1 time. With the single fastest round to count, Dominic took TQ, followed by Wong Kok Wai, while Asmad would start P3.

Touring Modified qualifying results:
1. Dominic Quek – Xray – 22/5:05.400
2. Wong Kok Wai – Awesomatix – 22/5:07.171
3. Asmad – Xray – 22/5:07.981
4. Azri Amri – Xray – 22/5:08.812
5. Shahrin S – Yokomo – 22/5:09.100
6. Michael Lim – Xray – 22/5:13.108
7. Norazam – Xray – 22/5:13.150
8. PY Tang – ARC – 22/5:14.324
9. Wee Yuan – Tamiya – 21/5:01.025
10.Roslan KR – Xray – 21/5:01.655

Leg 1 of the A-mains was a close race, with Dominic holding on to a slender lead from Kok Wai at the start. Overshooting the carousel slightly gave Kok Wai the margin to go into the lead after one minute. Two laps later, Dominic regained the lead with a good move into the hairpin at the short front straight. Just past the half-way mark, a contact between the two leading cars in the small sweeper coming onto the back straight saw Kok Wai unfortunately up end on the wrong side of the kerb. This left Dominic with a sizeable advantage which he held on to the end. Azri Amri finished 3rd. In leg 2, Dominic and Kok Wai started well once again and pulled a small gap on the rest of the field. As the two lead cars battled, a hard charging Azri began to catch up to make it a 3-horse race. Halfway through the race, Azri made his move at the end of the straight to go into P2. A minute later and Azri was nipping at the heels of Dominic for the lead. With a minute left, just as Azri edged past for the lead, there was a contact between the two leading cars, which left Dominic upside down dropping him to fourth. In the incident, Kok Wai took the lead with Azri in second and Shahrin in third. They would finish in that order, setting up a leg 3 showdown. In the final main Dominic once again had a confident start to pull an immediate gap on the field. Azri once again had a super start, immediately moving up from P4 to P3. At about the one minute mark, he got past Kok Wai for P2 at the end of the sweeper and immediately set his sights on the lead ingcar. Dominic had to manage his nerves for the remaining four minutes as veteran Azri closed the gap. In the end, Dominic’s measured drive saw him taking the win by just 0.6 seconds, and with that the overall win for the day.

Touring Modified final results:
1. Dominic Quek – Xray
2. Wong Kok Wai – Awesomatix
3. Azri Amri – Xray
4. Shahrin S – Yokomo
5. Norazam – Xray
6. Asmad – Xray
7. PY Tang – ARC
8. Michael Lim – Xray
9. Wee Yuan – Tamiya
10.Roslan KR – Xray

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: