February 7, 2017

2017 Snowbird Nationals – Report

The annual Snowbird Nationals was held at the Park Inn in Kissimmee, Florida this past weekend. More than 300 entries in ten different classes joined this event and the premier Touring Modified category was once again stacked with talent. Sweden’s Alexander Hagberg (Xray) would be the driver to beat and he finally managed to win every round of qualifying as well as the 5-minute A-main event from tone to tone to take the title from Awesomatix driver Sam Isaac and Team Associated’s Keven Hebert.

Touring Modified final results:
1. Alexander Hagberg – Xray
2. Sam Isaac – Awesomatix
3. Keven Hebert – Team Associated
4. Paul Lemieux – Xray
5. Dominic Vogl – VBC Racing
6. Hayato Ishiyoka – Kyosho
7. Drew Ellis – Xray
8. Jan Ratheisky – Xray
9. Josh Cyrul – Destiny
10.Chris Tosolini – WRC

The Touring 17.5T Super Stock category was won by Jan Ratheisky. Jan took benefit from a late tangle up that caused the leader Sam Isaacs to drop down the order. Robbie Dodge (Xray), who had been fighting with Sam for that TQ spot, would finish 2nd overall after a great drive while Sam Isaacs (Awesomatix) had to settle for third overall.

Touring 17.5T Stock final results:
1. Jan Ratheisky – Xray
2. Robbie Dodge – Xray
3. Sam Isaacs – Awesomatix
4. Cory Parsons – Xray
5. Martin Crisp – Yokomo
6. Craig Xavier – Xray
7. Austin Wolfe – Serpent
8. Matt Lyons – Awesomatix
9. Drew Ellis – Xray
10.Mark Burt – Awesomatix

The Touring 21.5T Stock class title went to Mark Burt from Monti Panzica in second and Canada’s Luke Pittman third.

Touring 21.5T Stock final results:
1. Mark Burt – Awesomatix
2. Monti Panzica – Awesomatix
3. Luke Pittman – Xray
4. Bill Sydor – Awesomatix
5. Austin Wolfe – Serpent
6. Brent Klingforth – Awesomatix
7. Diatta Collymore – WRC
8. Brian Card – Awesomatix
9. Justin Lyons – Awesomatix
10.Cory Parsons – Xray

In 1/12th Modified, the rules had been changed to blinky mode with open motors. Yokomo’s Toto Ebukuro took the win in a final that saw him in a fight with Alexander Hagberg (Xray) who struggled earlier in the week but he finally got his car right on main day, which allowed him to battle for the win. Ultimately a small tap cost him valuable time in the pursuit of the leader so he had to settle for second behind Toto while CRC driver Hayato Ishiyoka came in third. With the second place in 1/12th Modified Alexander Hagberg also secured himself the overall on-road championship for the third consecutive time.

1/12th Modified final result:
1. Toto Ebukuro – Yokomo
2. Alexander Hagberg – Xray
3. Hayato Ishiyoka – CRC
4. Keven Hebert – Team Associated
5. Andrew Knapp – CRC
6. Kosuke Suzuki – CRC
7. Ray Darroch – TOP
8. Dominic Vogl – VBC Racing
9. Josh Cyrul – Destiny
10.Kazuki Yamashita – CRC

In 1/12th 17.5T Stock Ray Darroch (TOP) brought home the hardware from Craig Xavier (Xray) in second and Joe Trandell (Team Associated) third.

1/12th 17.5T Stock final result:
1. Ray Darroch – TOP
2. Craig Xavier – Xray
3. Joe Trandell – Team Associated
4. Andrew Knapp – CRC
5. Dana Bailes – CRC
6. Robbie Dodge – Xray
7. John Wiita – CRC
8. Takeshi Shinomiya – CRC
9. Andrew Mowery – Speedmerchant
10.Monti Panzica – Roche

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: