February 13, 2017

Mibosport Cup Rd4 – Report

The penultimate round of the 2016/17 Mibosport Cup was held at the Hotel-Sport in Hrotovice with 160 drivers entering the six electric on-road and off-road classes. In the Touring Modified class qualifying it was Dominic Vogl who was closely followed by Magnus Vässmar and Matej Dobnikar. In the triple A-mains Dominic didn’t give Magnus any chance for overtaking and so he won all three A-main legs right ahead of Vässmar. In the opening two finals, the third place finishes went to Matej Dobnikar while Oliver Havránek finished third in the final A-main. So overall Dominic Vogl took the win with Magnus Vässmar and Matej Dobnikar completing the podium.

Philipp Neudinger dominated the qualifying of the Stock LRP class and he took the overall TQ without any problems. Oliver Havránek started from the second position ahead of Christian Völker. In the opening A-main Philipp and Oliver quickly opened a gap on their rivals and up front Philipp was able to open a small gap on Oliver to take the win while Nick Briesemeister came in third. It looked like Philipp was about to win even the second A-main when he made a mistake in the opening stages followed by another mistake in lap four which allowed Oliver Havránek to take the lead. Christian Völker finished on the second place behind Oliver while Philipp managed to recover to a third place finish. Philipp and Oliver again made a comfortable gap on the field in the final A-main. Oliver was trying to find a place for overtaking but Philipp was controlling the gap and finally managed to leave Oliver behind till the end of the race as Christian Völker took the third place so the overall win went to Phillip Neudinger with Oliver Havránek and Christian Völker behind.

Lukáš Hoch won the Formula qualifying ahead of Thomas Dvorszky and Bernd Koller. Lukáš led the way in the first A-main when he made a mistake allowing Thomas Dvorszky to take the lead. Thomas Göschl managed to take the second place after starting from the sixth position, promoting Bernd Koller to third. The second A-main saw a battle between Lukáš Hoch and Thomas Dvorszky. These drivers were racing very closely to each other the whole race. In the end, the victory went to Lukáš, Thomas took the second position just three tenths behind the winner while Bernd Koller finished third. The battle between Lukáš and Thomas continued in the third A-main with Bernd Koller trying to join the group as well. Lukáš managed to keep the lead till the end of the final to take the win ahead of Thomas and Bernd. Overall Lukáš Hoch grabbed the win and became the only Czech driver of the event to take the top spot on the podium.

The qualifying of the 1/12th scale class, that saw only eight participants this time, was won by Tomáš Lipták. Tomáš was in the lead in the first A-main, when he had to retire on the second lap. Wolfgang Reichel then took the leading position and kept it till the end of the final. Igor Lipták finished second ahead of Thomas Göschl. The second A-main was then won by Tomáš Lipták with Thomas Dvorszky and Wolfgang Reichel behind. It seemed like Tomáš would also bring home the win in A3 when he made a mistake on lap 8, allowing Thomas Dvorszky to take the lead. Wolfgang Reichel finished second meaning an overall victory for him. The second spot on the podium went to Thomas Dvorszky with Tomáš Lipták coming in third.

In the 2WD Buggy class Hupo Hönigl dominated the. Kája Novotný took the second place with Peter Loncsar taking the third spot on the grid. Hupo then also gave any chance to his rivals and won all the three A-mains in style. Kája Novotný managed to take the second place in the first A-main ahead of Marcel Rekettye. In the second A-main, Peter Loncsar finished second behind Hupo with Kája Novotný behind. The third A-main must have been a nightmare for Kája who finished on the eight place. Daniel Kobbevik then took the second place with Peter Loncsar behind. Overall and behind Hupo, Kája Novotný and Peter Loncsar completed the podium.

In the 4WD class, Kája Novotný came out on top after the qualifying from Daniel Kobbevik and Hupo Hönigl. In the first A-main, Hupo managed to get in the lead and he kept the first position till the finish line while Kája finished second with Daniel Kobbevik in third. Kája was in the lead in the second A-main when Hupo got past about halfway into the race as Daniel Kobbevik finished third. With two wins and the overall victory in his pockets, Hupo opted to sit out A3, allowing Kája Novotný to take the victory with Daniel Kobbevik and Max Götzl behind. Behind Hupo, Kája Novotný and Daniel Kobbevik completing the podium. The final round of the Mibosport Cup series will be held on the 25th of March.

Source: Mibosport [mibosport.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: