September 7, 2017

Ty Tessmann TQs & wins at Sikcross Race

The 2017 Sikcross Race was held at Southern California’s Pro-Line test track. The race was put on by Levi Jackson with Sik Track Designs and the format was different than the standard IFMAR qualifying, as it is setup more like motocross event with heads up gate starts. The first two rounds of Expert Nitro Buggy qualifying were won by Xray’s Ty Tessmann and after a resort, he was qualifying in the last one in a heads up race with Mugen’s Ryan Maifield who won his first two rounds of qualifying. The two had a really good battle, swapping positions back and forth a couple of times, but when coming out of the sand trap on the last lap, Ty hit a hole that he knew was there but he couldn’t see his car well due to the dust from the sand trap. Tessmann took a tumble and Maifield got by to TQ the final round. However Tessmann was able to take the overall TQ with Maifield qualifying 2nd overall.

The mains would be triple 15 minute legs ran back to back with 5 minutes in between. For every 15 minute main the organisers used the heads up gate start and drivers chose their position at the gate by their qualifying position. The first main Ty got the holeshot and pulled away, maintaining the lead for the whole race to win. In the 2nd main, Tessmann also got the holeshot but it was very close with Maifield right behind him. The two had a really good battle throughout the entire main, swapping positions, towards the end of the race Ty was able to create a small gap and take the win. In the third main Ty wasn’t able to get the holeshot but did get a fairly good start. Tessmann had a battle with Maifield for the first lap when Maifield’s car stopped suddenly on the track and he was out of the race. Ty clipped a hole on the straight away and Anthony Westergard got into the lead and let the race for several minutes, when he would make a mistake and Tessmann would get by to take the lead. Ty was able to create a gap on the field and just drove fast enough to maintain a gap to take the win in A3 and with it the overall win from TLR’s Anthony Westergard and Tekno’s Joe Bornhorst.

Source: Xray [] | Image: RugspinGraphix []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: