December 13, 2017

JConcepts INS7 finale – Report

The JConcepts Indoor National Series is considered to be the most successful offroad racing series in the U.S. and the 2017 season proved that the series keeps growing attracting the best racers in the nation to compete on five different tracks across America. As soon as the JConcepts INS7 Finale race registration opened for SpeedRC Raceway, spots filled up fast and soon hit the max capacity limit at 350 entries very quickly. The highly anticipated race was headlined by some of the most competitive names in the game like current 2WD and 4WD IFMAR World Champion Ryan Maifield, 4-time World Champion Ryan Cavalieri, 2015 World Champion Spencer Rivkin, former National Champion Dustin Evans, Max Flurer, JP Richards, Spencer Heckert, Griffin Hanna, Alex Kosciuszek, and Daimon Borkowicz just to name a few.

Speed R/C Raceway has a relatively short history, but has already significantly impacted the RC racing scene. The track itself was butter smooth and full of grip. The layout was simple allowing for great racing and ultra close times. The right side of the track consisted of a high-speed sweeper with two sets of small doubles requiring people to control their entry angle and speed. The triple on the back left side was probably the most difficult part on the track and played a crucial role in the stock classes. Overall, racers were excited about the track layout and the racing was excellent come main day.

It was a battle of World Champions in the 2WD Mod class with three world champions going at it for the win. Yokomo’s Ryan Maifield was lights out in qualifying, but having gone with gold Octagons all weekend, the track was finally coming around for Team Associated’s Ryan Cavalieri towards the main. A1 went to Cav and A2 to Maifield to set up a great showdown in A3. With a mistake by Maifield in A3, Cavalieri would take over the lead and never looked back and crossed the line to win the overall. Maifield finished 2nd and Team Associated’s Dustin Evan 3rd in a very competitive 2WD Mod class.

Team Associated’s Dustin Evan was on point in the 4WD Modified class having set the TQ and went on to win A1 putting the pressure on the others. At the start of A2, Cav would get into the back of Ryan Maifield causing a huge pile up allowing Dustin to escape and take the win. Maifield would finish 2nd overall with Team Associated’s Ryan Cavalieri 3rd in a 3-way tie breaker along with AE teammate, Spencer Rivkin.

In Modified Truck and with an early mistake by Dustin Evans on lap one, it looked as if it was already over for the class TQ. However, it being an 8-minute long race, the race came back to Dustin as Cavalieri and JP Richards made contact multiple times ultimately giving the lead back to Dustin and also the win. Ryan Cavalieri finished 2nd and JP Richards 3rd after eight battle filled minutes.

It was a showdown between two young superstars in the Modified Short Course class between Team Associated’s Spencer Rivkin and Team Associated’s Alex Kosciuszek. The wizard would take the TQ in qualifying, but Spencer would shine in the 8 minute main. AE’s Matt Cline finished 3rd to take the final spot on the podium.

With the new EB410 wheeler on the market, we’re starting to see more of Tekno’s Joe Bornhorst at 1/10th races. No stranger to 4WD SCT trucks, Joe took the TQ and win with Kevin Thomas 2nd and a very talented and young Joshua Alfaro 3rd.

In 40+ Modified Buggy the King of 40+ did it once again. Another fabulous showing for AE Team Manager, Brent Thielke, in the class he’s dominated all year long with another TQ and win from tone to tone. Rob Meyer went on to finish 2nd with another fast 40 driver, Team Associated’s Al Horne, in 3rd.

13.5 wheeler is growing class in the US and so is the competition. From the Top Gun race to the JConcepts finale a week later, Rudy Rico took a hard-fought win in 13.5 wheeler with 13.5 National Champion, Dreighton Stoub, hot on his heels and only 1.8 seconds back for 2nd. Matthew Olson was also flying in the class to net himself 3rd on the podium.

Always deadly, always fast in the 17.5 2WD Stock Buggy class, Dreighton Stoub would qualify 2nd but go on to win the extended 8-minute single A-main. AJ Marasco would jump up from 4th on the grid to finish 2nd ahead of an ultra-quick Rudy Rico.

Having a standout year, Ryan Reavis found himself fastest among a quick group of guys in the 17.5 Stock Stadium Truck class. Ryan would take the win with Justin Doyle finishing 2nd edging out Tanner Perdue. Tanner would have a hard-fought race to finish 3rd on the podium.

In 17.5 Stock Short Course and for the entire 2017 season, Ryan Reavis and Douglas Hobbs have battled each other at almost every race. Being friends from the Northwest, they have pushed each other to get faster while displaying great sportsmanship along the way. This time, it was Ryan Reavis taking the win in the Stock Short Course class with Hobbs only 2.3 seconds back. Kyle Jeffries finish 3rd to make the coveted top 3.

Source: JConcepts []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: