December 4, 2017

Thilo Tödtmann takes US World Nitro Cup title

The 2017 US World Nitro Cup was held at Full Throttle Raceway in Kissimmee, Florida this past weekend. As usual the event attracted both national racers as well as guests from abroad with this year’s event again attracting a strong field of European drivers. In the 1/10th 200mm Nitro Sedan class the top 3 after the qualifiers was an all-Infinity affair with Jilles Groskamp on top followed by Andy Moore and Teemu Leino. DJ Apolaro and Thilo Tödtmann would round out the top 5 results.

At the start of the A-main, Thilo found himself in 3rd position right after the start and he had to defend his position very hard against several guys who were on a tyre-change strategy, holding 3rd position for most of the race. In the final 15 minutes Thilo fought his way into 2nd position as Jilles and then DJ went into troubles, allowing Tödtmann to take over the lead with ten minutes to go. Taking it easy and avoiding any crashes Thilo Tödtmann (Shepherd) was able to bring home the win, recapturing his title from 2015 as the Serpent duo of Bobby Horan and Walter Diaz had to settle for 2nd and 3rd, however all three finished on the same lap only about eleven seconds apart after the 45-minutes A-main.

Source: Shepherd []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: