April 16, 2018

Robert Batlle wins Spanish buggy opener

The opening round of the Spanish 1/8th Nitro Buggy National Championship was held this past weekend at the Radovan track, home of the recent Neobuggy race. The event saw the participation of some foreign drivers such as David Ronnefalk and Joseph Quagraine and it was David who would hold the upper hand after the qualifiers to take the overall TQ from Robert Batlle 2nd and Juan Carlos Canas 3rd. Great drama then stroke for David whose buggy’s tank volume was found to be too large although he hadn’t changed anything since the last couple of races. The 45-minute A-main was a pretty intense affair with lots of position changes, however at the front of the pack the lead between Robert Batlle and Juan Carlos only changed a couple of times and in the end, and despite a couple of mishaps, it was Robert who brought home a narrow 0.9s win from Juan Carlos, making it a Mugen 1-2 at the opening round of the Championship. Behind the two, the race for the final podium spot was on between Daniel Bernabe, Joao Figueiredo, Dani Batlle or Jorge Soler, however it was Kyosho’s Bryan Baldo who would snatch the final step on the podium with a great drive.

Final results:
1. Robert Batlle – Mugen
2. Juan Carlos Canas – Mugen
3. Bryan Baldo – Kyosho
4. Joao Figueiredo – Kyosho
5. Ricardo Monteiro – Mugen
6. Daniel Bernabe – HoBao
7. Jorge Soler – Team Associated
8. Oscar Navarro – Mugen
9. Ignacio Candel – HB Racing
10.Alberto Pelaez – HB Racing
11.Dani Vega – Agama
12.Manu Iniesta – Mugen
13.Dani Batlle – Mugen

Source: InfoRC [inforc.net]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: