May 30, 2018

Danish Electric Off-road Championship Rd2 – Report

The small and bumpy Black Hill RC track in Hobro hosted round 2 of the Danish Electric Off-road Nationals recently. In the 2WD qualifiers Jesper Rasmussen was on fire right from the start as he was one of the few drivers that delivered a mistake-free run. In Q2 Jesper took again the TQ without any mistakes in front of M. Kaerup. In Q3 Jesper was on TQ pace again but rolled it, allowing Frederik Hovgaard in front but in the end Jesper’s pace was a bit faster and he ultimately also took round 3.

In the finals Jesper was on pole from Frederik in 2nd. A1 saw Jesper checking out early, leaving the remainder of the drivers to battle it out for P2 and P3. A2 then was a blueprint of A1 as Jesper stormed away for the overall win. The final A-main then was all about the runner-up and final podium spot with Marcus Kaerup beating Jonas Kaerup as Frederik Hovgaard was the best of the rest in 4th followed by Christoffer Henriksen 5th.

The 4WD qualifiers again had Jesper out in front, however Marcus Kaerup was hot on his heels but unfortunately rolled it. For Q2 Jesper had found a little bit more speed which allowed him to take the TQ with a lap margin, handing him the overall TQ and pole position for the finals. In Q3 Jesper then rolled his buggy which allowed Marcus to take the round TQ and with it the P2 spot on the grid.

The opening A-main saw Jesper and Marcus out in front but the latter would roll his buggy which allowed Jesper to take it easy and bring home the win in A1. Marcus was able to recover to 2nd ultimately. A2 again had Jesper being in control of things especially when Marcus again rolled and it was all smooth sailing for Jesper to take the overall win as young gun Lasse Bak came in 2nd following Marcus’ mistake. A3 was a pretty dramatic affair as Marcus rolled in the opening stages while Mathias Douglas, starting at the back of the field, took over the lead. When Douglas had a small bobble Lasse was promoted into the lead in front of Frederik and Kærup. Then the carnage began and when the dust had settled it was Lasse with the win in A3, awarding him the overall runner-up spot from Marcus Kaerup in 3rd. Frederik Hovgaard and Mathias Douglas rounded out the top 5 results.

The Truck qualifiers had Ulrich Rasmussen being the driver to beat, although Kim Beoslund was super close to him on lap times but Kim Kristensen was the fastest on one lap. Ultimately Ulrich TQ’d from Kim and Kim. A1 and A2 then saw Kim Beoslund beating the pole sitter for the overall win and after a crazy A3 it was Ulrich with the runner-up spot from Kim Kristensen 3rd. Per Eriksen came in 4th, Lars Kristensen finished on the 5 spot.

Thanks to Jesper Rasmussen for the report. Images: Jens Otto Frederiksen


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: