December 17, 2018

Arrowmax Cup 2018 finals – Report

The Arrowmax Cup 2018 finals and China Open Nationals were a joint event that was held this past weekend at the Amazing Indoor Arena in Guangzhou, China. More than 100 drivers attended in the Touring Modified, Touring Stock and Formula categories. In the Touring Modified class Xray’s Gary Huang was the top seed after the controlled practice with Yokomo driver Nicholas Lee and Serpent driver “Rocket” Jack Zhang coming in 2nd and 3rd respectively. In the Stock class Mugen driver Yan Cheung from Hong Kong took the 1st spot while Serpent driver “Stick King” Wai Yin Fung was the top seed of the Formula class.

After the opening day, Nicholas Lee made a clean sweep in all three rounds of Saturday’s qualifying with two more rounds of qualifying would be held on Sunday morning. Behind the Singaporean overnight TQ holder it was Gary Huang and his team mate Vincent Xie in 2nd and 3rd as Chen Ling Xiang hold the overnight TQ in Touring Stock. With all five rounds completed, Yokomo factory driver Nicholas Lee took the overall TQ with a record breaking 23 laps run in round 5 to get the overall TQ of Arrowmax Cup 2018 finals. Gary Huang, China’s top Xray driver had his best run in RD 4 but still found the track a little bit difficult, but still aimed to stay competitive to challenge Nicholas in the finals. Vincent Tse, Xray driver from HK, had consistent results throughout the five qualifiers but pushed too much in order so stay in touch with the top 2, however he still ended in P3 overall on the grid. Yokomo driver King Fong from Hong Kong ended up 4th on the grid, although he had hoped for a better result. Serpent driver Felix Law had a bad day on Saturday but he made a comeback in Sunday’s Q4 and Q5, starting from 5th on the A-main grid.

The finals then saw Nicholas Lee taking full advantage of his Modified class pole position to take the overall win at the Arrowmax Cup finals, thanks to winning A1 and A2. Gary Huang and Fong King took 2nd and 3rd respectively to round out the podium.

In the Stock class, Mugen driver Yan Cheung fought a tough battle with Awesomatix driver Simon Wang. Yan took A1 and Simon took A2, and in the decisive A3, Yan managed to keep Simon behind to cross the line 0.4s earlier.

In the Formula class, Stick King brought home the championship trophy.

Source: Arrowmax []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: