January 24, 2019

BRCA 1/12th Nationals Rd4 – Report

The fourth round of the 2018/19 BRCA 1/12th nationals took place at North West Raceway near Birkenhead. This was a new venue for this year and the club laid a technical and challenging track layout. A capacity entry of 80 drivers were treated to a fantastic weekend of highly competitive 1/12th circuit racing. On Saturday racers competed in the 13.5 blinky stock championship with the field split into F1, F2 and F3 grades. In F1 Andy Murray took his second pole position of the season in as many meetings and was the only driver to post a 36 lap time. Championship leader David Spashett lined up second with Adam Catchpole third closely followed by a tenth of a second by Mark Stiles. In an action packed final Andy Murray stretched an early lead before a small mistake dropped him down to third behind David and Adam. Managing to pass Adam he set off after David but once in the lead David drove a smooth and consistent race and never looked back taking his third win of the series. There was then a battle for the remaining positions with Ollie Payne, current European stock champion who started an uncharacteristic sixth on the grid making a move to finish second. Adam Catchpole won his battle with Andy by the narrowest of margins to come home in third. With three wins and a second place so far and two round of the championship to go David Spashett now has one hand on this seasons trophy.

F1 Stock result:
1. David Spashett – Roche
2. Ollie Payne – Roche
3. Adam Catchpole – Capricorn
4. Andy Murray – Schumacher
5. Mark Stiles – Team Associated
6. Ben Vincent – Roche
7. Mark Jewitt – Schumacher
8. Andy Sawyer – Schumacher
9. Ben Elliott – Schumacher
10.Mathew Varah – Team Associated

In F2 Andrew Smith continued his front row lock out and secured pole position for the fourth time. Stephane Fiorini would line up second with Joshua Coult lining up third. Andrew would take a tone to tone win and claim his fourth win of the championship. It was all change behind though with Simon Harris coming from 5th on the grid to take second and Jody Sherratt finishing third. With four rounds counting and four wins Andrew secured the F2 Stock Championship with this win, Congratulations Andrew. The formula system was reintroduced for this season and has been a massive success with drivers racing hard for their respective championships. Andrew has driven fast and consistently this season and is the first driver to make his mark in this new Saturday format.

F2 Stock result:
1. Andrew Smith – CRC
2. Simon Harris – Xray
3. Jody Sherratt – Xray
4. Nigel Hale – Team Associated
5. Joshua Coult – Schumacher
6. Barry Lynch – Schumacher
7. James Stewart – Team Associated
8. James Inight – Xray
9. Adrian Thorpe – Xray
10.Stephane Fiorini – Roche

In F3 Gareth Hollis took TQ from Chris Hudson and Daniel Robins in only his second 1/12th national. Gareth and Chris would finish as they started but Daniel was jumped by fourth place man Gareth Hollis. Heading into the final rounds the F3 championship remains open to a few drivers.

F3 Stock result:
1. Gareth Hollis – Team Associated
2. Chris Hudson – Chris Hudson
3. Martin Harris – Team Associated
4. Daniel Robins – Schumacher
5. Rob Warren – Team Associated
6. Daniel Millard – Corally
7. Andrew Cooper – Xray
8. Thomas Ridgley – Schumacher
9. James Eaves – Yokomo
10.Lee Moss – Roche

On Sunday the field was split into Modified and Sports classes. The sports class again running 13.5 blinky motors. In modified Andy Murray was unable to secure his second pole position of the weekend and would line up third. David Spashett qualified second but it was this years championship leader Ollie Payne who would start at the front. Ollie would streak away at the front and was never challenged finishing an amazing two laps clear of the field. An early incident would see David drop down the field with Andy Murray running second for the majority of the race before a dramatic loss of rear grip in the final laps saw him passed by David who had made some stunning overtakes to recover and bring his car home in second with Andy close behind in third. This would be Ollie’s fourth win of the championship meaning he cannot now be caught and has won the Modified Championship.

Modified result:
1. Ollie Payne – Roche
2. David Spashett – Roche
3. Andy Murray – Schumacher
4. Adam Catchpole – Roche
5. Mark Stiles – Team Associated
6. Andrew Smith – CRC
7. Louis Parker – Schumacher
8. Stephane Fiorini – Roche
9. Ben Elliott – Schumacher
10.Daniel Holmes – Schumacher

In Sports Modified Ben Vincent had one hand on the trophy coming into this round having three wins so far. However it wasn’t to be a perfect season as Matt Varah would take pole with Ben lining up second. Tim Wood completed the top trio. Unfortunately for Matt he clipped a track marker while in the lead and had to retire his car. Ben seized the opportunity and took the win although he was kept honest by Tim who finished one second behind. Mick Farrell made a great run from sixth on the grid to finish third. With four wins Ben secures the Sports Modified championship.

Sports Modified result:
1. Ben Vincent – Roche
2. Tim Wood – Roche
3. Mick Farrell – CRC
4. Niall Cochran – CRC
5. Jim Spencer – Roche
6. Scott Morton – Roche
7. Kenneth Rogers – Schumacher
8. Daniel Mountford – Team Associated
9. Joshua Coult – Schumacher
10.Matt Varah – Team Associated

The next round of the championship takes place in Poole in February.

Source: BRCA [brca.org]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: