May 6, 2019

Xray Racing Series Grand Final – Report

The 2019 Grand Final of the Xray Racing Racing Series was held at the Hudy Racing Arena in Trencin, Slovakia this past weekend. The race was held in electric and nitro classes and it was run both at the Arena’s indoor and outdoor tracks due to the unpredictable weather conditions. The electric classes were run on the facility’s indoor asphalt track with the Touring Modified class being the most exciting. Bruno Coelho took the overall TQ in front of Xray’s own Martin Hudy. Ultimately the finals ended as they had started with Bruno being pretty much unbeatable while Martin had to settle for 2nd overall and in front of Alexander Hagberg in 3rd.

The Touring Car 13.5T Stock class was the most popular category. Oliver Havranek took the TQ and showed some exceptional driving in the finals to bring home the silverware from Stefan Schulz in 2nd. Behind Stefan with was Tom Kragefski with the final podium spot.

In FWD class Jan Ratheisky showed incredible speed by taking the TQ and win in first two finals. In third final it was a battle between Francesco Martini and Michal Milanowicz for the 2nd podium place. Michal made one mistake that gave Francesco a safety distance to claim the win and overall 2nd position while Michal finished in 3rd overall.

The Formula class been really exciting. Rene Kolbe with a great performance in qualification was able to take the TQ in front of Luke Lee. The final then has been exciting for all drivers and the overall positions ware decided in A3 where Jan Rahteisky showed incredible speed starting from 4th spot. He quickly advanced to 3rd and waited for an open door to pass Luke Lee and manage to get it done three minutes into the race. During the final seconds of the final Rene Kolbel made a mistake giving a chance for Jan to win the last final and overall win from Rene 2nd and Luke 3rd.

In 1/10 Pan Car the TQ went to Ondrej Kohoutek and he managed to keep his starting position to finish 1st overall. Also Marek Helbich kept his 2nd starting position throughout the finals and took 2nd overall while Kai Asmer showed some great performance and managed to finish 3rd overall after starting from 8th on the grid.

The Nitro classes were able to get their laps done on Saturday which was the only day allowing drivers to get out on the track. In 1/8 IC track it was Tomas Liptak who dominated the race by taking the TQ and overall win. Branislav Panak showed a good pace in the qualifiers but was not able to finish the final so Marcel Dostal took 2nd overall after starting 3rd on the grid. Frank Wittke from Germany took the 3rd place overall.

In 1/10 200mm Michal Abrahamek and Rasmus Bo Nielsen were fighting for overall TQ which at the end was taken by Michal. But in the final it was Rasmus Bo Nielsen who was able to win the race two laps ahead of Michal as Peter Spratley rounded out the podium.

Source: Xray []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: