September 23, 2019

Wang & Perez win at 2019 Protoform Cup

The Steel City R/C Raceway of Fontana, California played host to the 2019 Protoform Cup this past weekend, attracting 75 entries for the 1/10th and 1/8th scale classes offered. In Electric Touring Modified it was Xray’s JJ Wang with the overall TQ and also the win in A1 and A2 for an early overall victory from Yokomo’s Randy Caster on the runner-up spot. A hard-charging Rick Hohwart (Team Associated) recovered from P11 on the grid to take the final podium spot from Xray’s Lex Tyler who rounded out the top 4 results.

Over in Electric Touring Stock it was Cesar Perez with the overall victory from P2 on the grid. Top qualifier, Brian Bosley came in 2nd, tie on points with 4th place qualifier, Bob Stellflue.

USGT was TQ’d and won by Matt Allen from 3rd place qualifier, Cesar Perez and 6th place qualifier, Mike Rydwell.

The Formula class saw Mike Rydwell taking the TQ and winning honours, leaving behind Chat Rott in 2nd and Rich Reybok in 3rd.

Pro10 saw veteran racer, Tyree Phillips sweeping the class from Kevin Harris in 2nd and Paul Smith in 3rd.

Finally in 1/8th Electric Track it was again Tyree Phillips with the TQ and win from Armando Parga and Brian Rutherford.

Source: 1up Racing [] | Protoform []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: