February 11, 2020

MOD 5th Scale Championship Rd1 – Report

The Fear Farm RC Raceway in Phoenix, Arizona played host for the first instalment of the MOD 5th Scale Championship Series of 2020. The event attracted nearly 75 entires for the 4WD and 2WD Truck and Buggy classes and in 4WD Truck Pro it was Matt Olson with the overall TQ. The 30-minute A-main event then again saw Matt up front, taking the win some two laps in front of Chris Higa in 2nd. Aaron Brown came in 3rd, some twelve seconds behind Chris.

4WD Truck Expert had Jose Carrillo taking the overall TQ but it was 2nd place qualifier, Daniel Fry with the win in the 25-minute A-main, a lap in front of Jason Turner as Derik Thibodeau came in 3rd, another lap down.

4WD Truck Sportsman was TQ’d by Jeff Kesar, however it was 3rd place qualifier, Ben Benavides with the win in the 20-minute A-main. Jim Riggs came in 2nd, a lap behind while 9th place qualifier, Bob Garver, finished in 3rd overall.

4WD Buggy Pro was TQed and won by Tom Stober who finished the 30-minute A-main a lap in front of Chris Higa as OBR Dan came in 3rd, another lap down.

In the 4WD Buggy Expert category Jose Carillo came out on top both in qualifying and the A-main, leaving behind Daniel Fry in 2nd and Juan Cardenas in 3rd.

4WD Buggy Sportsman saw Jeff Kesar walking away with the TQ, however it was 2nd place qualifier, Randy Morrow with the win in the 20-minute A-main as Joe Okimoto and Brandon Lopez rounded out the overall top 3.

ORB Dan took the TQ and win in the 2WD Open class a narrow two seconds in front of Jake McGarvey in 2nd. A lap down it was Carl Woosley with the final top 3 spot.

The Beginners class was swept by Jessica Fry who took the overall TQ and also the win in the 15-minute A-main from Jason Morehead in 2nd and 10th place qualifier, Nathan Carroll in 3rd.

Images: MOD [modspeedshop.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: