March 3, 2020

2019/20 Mibosport Cup Rd5 – Report

The fifth and final round of the Mibosport Cup was held this past weekend, once again attracting a very healthy field of over 200 drivers for the electric on-road and off-road classes. The event was a special one for the overall championships as to make things more interesting, the organisers decided to serve more points than usual on the final encounter, ensuring all drivers were pushing really hard as nothing was set in stone in the overall rankings going into the final round. Beside the usual suspects the final round attracted some special names, mainly in the off-road classes, such as Jörn Neumann, who found the way to the Czech Republick after a long time as did young and very talented Jessica Palsson from Sweden. However, starting with the on-road classes and in Touring Modified, Oliver Havranek was the man to beat. But it was not smooth sailing for him. Matej Sulc held the TQ spot after the qualifiers but in the end Matej wasn’t able to fend off Oliver who brought home the win from Matej in 2nd. Petr Grof secured P3, Kuba Simurda came in 4th and Martin Kratochvil finished in 5th.

In Pro Stock 13.5T Touring Oliver Havranek missed some of the regular and so it was a pretty easy win for him by running just four of his six heats. However, the runner-up spot was still free to pick. Both Tim Schulte and Michel Zierold had their premiere in the Mibosport Cup series and it ended up in a great way. Tim finished 2nd in front of Michel in 3rd. Karel Kratochvil had to satisfy himself with the 4th position and Radko Cernohous came in 5th.

Werner Spannbruckner lead the Touring FWD field for the majority of the time. Even though Alexander Mayer won the A1, Werner took the control back in both A2 and A3 and brought home the silverware. Alexander came in 2nd and Michal Bok finished 3rd.

In GT Stock 17.5T Lukas Vopat finally tasted the deserved victory after competing close to the top spot during the whole season. Although Günter Krausgruber was fast, there was a lack of precision in the technical parts of the track costing him chance to compete with Lukas. Maty Knopp keeps getting better and his 3rd place was just a proof of this. Marcel Pietsch ended the day in 4th in front of Ivo Gombik.

A very competitive field of almost 40 drivers filled the Formula grid which was really nice to see. Lukas Hoch set the pace and continued by dominating the qualifiers and finals. Thomas Dvorszky made it to 2nd spot overall and Simon Horak tried his best in 3rd position. Manuel Trinko dropped out of the top 3 after the finals and finished 4th and in front of Werner Spannbruckner.

In 2WD Buggy Modified Jessica Palsson did very well. She dominated the field from the early beginning. Setting the TQ pace she continued by winning A1 and A3. On the other hand, there really happened a lot behind her. After numerous position changes and driver errors Max Götzl moved from 7th on the grid up to the runner-up spot. Hupo Hönigl also improved and ended up in 3rd. Jörn Neumann finished 4th in front of Adam Iszay.

In 4WD Buggy Modified and compared to the 2WD class, the drivers in front remained almost in the same order as they started. Martin Bayer probably kept his luck for this class as he transformed his TQ into the overall victory. Bartek Zambrzycki was not far, but a few small driver errors cost him more than the runner-up spot. Jessica Palsson took the 3rd position in front of her teammate Jörn Neumann as Max Götzl finished in 5th.

Matus Benetin belongs to top drivers in 2WD Buggy Modified class and so the Stock variation was probably just a slice of cake for him. After just two finals he secured the overall victory in front of Tristan Hackl. Juraj Hudy completed the top 3.

The spirit of the race award went to Bartek Zambrzycki and David Douhlevski was awarded the Junior of the race.

Source: Mibosport []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: