July 13, 2020

Ryan Maifield TQs & wins at JBRL Nitro Series Rd2

Thunder Alley Raceway of Beaumont, California played host to round 2 of the JBRL Nitro Series this past weekend. The event attracted over 230 entries, including some of the country’s fastest off-road racers and several IFMAR World Champions, and in the premier class of Expert Nitro Buggy it was Mugen’s Ryan Maifield, 2017 IFMAR 2WD and 4WD Buggy World Champion, with the overall TQ from Spencer Rivkin, 2019 2WD World Champion, in 2nd. In the 15-minute A-main Ryan would lead from tone-to-tone while Spencer dropped back and only finished in 10th overall. Up front however, it was SWorkz’s Ryan Cavalieri, multi-times World Champion, who slowly worked his way up from P5 on the grid to take the runner-up spot some six seconds behind Maifield. 3rd place qualifier, Adam Drake (Mugen) came in 3rd overall to round out the podium a lap down.

Open Nitro Truggy had Adam Drake taking the overall TQ and he also took home the win by 0.8 seconds in front of Ryan Cavalieri. Jeff Colendich (Mugen) came in 3rd overall, three laps behind the top 2.

Ryan Cavalieri would walk away with the TQ and win in Open E-Buggy, leaving behind Adam Drake in 2nd, a lap down after the single 10-minute A-main encounter. Ron DeVoll (Team Associated) finished in 3rd, some eleven seconds behind Adam.

Image: Mugen [mugenracing.com]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: