November 12, 2020

FSEARA Rd2 Coral Spring – Report

Another strong 85 entries event at the Coral Spring RC club for the 2nd round of the FSEARA series. It was a successful event although mother nature totally destroyed the day of practice on Saturday, with the rain destroying both the track condition as well as the pit area. The start of Sunday morning was another rain out, forcing the event to have a further delay. With both the delay and Daylight saving time change, the FSEARA had to change its original 3 rounds of qualifiers to 2 rounds and extend the practice time. As many drivers were coming from out of town it was important to get some track time for the first time after the rain delay at around 10am. With only 2 hours of open practice it was an intense battle royale practice with all classes on the track at the same time.

The highlight battle for the weekend was for sure in 17.5 TC. Infinity Driver Dave Vera vs Yokomo driver Cory Parsons. Basically, battle nonstop from qualifying to the A main event. With Dave Vera having the more consistent car, he was able to gap TQ. While Cory clearly has the faster car overall. With the start of the A Main, Cory pushed hard to pressure Dave and was able to get by for the lead, but to lose it again 2 laps later after a small mistake in the sweeper. With the battle heating up, 3rd place Xray driver Chad Peets was able to close in to join the battle. The race continued with gaps remaining the same, it seems everyone was only able to retain their position and no over take happened for the remainder of the race.

1. Dave Vera
2. Cory parsons
3. Chad Peets

In Mod TC it was Xpress Driver Felix Law who clearly won this race. The battle to watch was 2nd and 3rd between Infinity Driver Dave Vera and long time retired Serpent driver Scotty Gray. With Q1 Dave took 2nd place while in Q2 Scotty was able to take 2nd. The tie break came down to time by 0.1sec allowing Dave to start 2nd in the A Main. During the final, the Infinity driver was able to quickly pressure Felix Law at the start, but wasn’t able to maintain the pressure and lost traction in the sweeper. He safely maintained 2nd, while Scotty totally lost the car at the start, having a bad start. But he was able to catch up to the front of the pack and finish 3rd.

1. Felix Law
2. Dave Vera
3. Scotty Gray

In USGT the FWD vs 4WD Story continues. With Felix Law the only driver using a FWD car in this class, the class instantly brought some hype and story around FL. With only the 2nd race series, there are already 8 entries using FWD instead of 4WD in this class. With Felix Law again TQ over 2nd place by about 3 secs. The A Main event also had a total of 5 FWD cars. This really showcased the FWD was not a disadvantage vs 4wd with the current USGT rules. During the A main final, Felix was able to once again pull out with a good lead, the battle was between 2nd and 3rd Jesus Diaz and Eddie Shaffer. Both of these drivers were 4wd while the next Fwd driver is Serpent CEO Joaquin Desoto finishing in 4th place.

1. Felix Law
2. Jesus Diaz
3. Eddie Shaffer

17.5 handout TC our Rd1 winner Eddie Shaffer once again showed an unstoppable pace in this class while 2nd place Chris Crowder had a close challenge toward the end of the Main trying to capitalise on Eddie’s mistake but only just fell short. In the end Eddie was able to keep the lead finish 1st.

1. Eddie Shaffer
2. Chris Crowder
3. Brandon Diaz

VTA was a battle between 2 drivers. Brandon Diaz was able to take the 1st qualifier while Greg Rojna was able to gap the 2nd qualifier with the faster time. During the Main, the battle was close in between 2 drivers, but no overtaking took place and the position remained the same throughout the race.

1. Greg Rojina
2. Brandon Diaz
3. Miami Mike

In GT12 the winner of RD 1 Jesus Diaz was unpressured this time around. Gaping the TQ and winning by over 6secs.

1. Jesus Diaz
2. Richard Johnson
3. Fred

While the winner in F1 from RD1 struggled against the local heroes, the TQ from the opening round Sean Wager was the only one to put up the challenge. Our Local hero, Famous SFL Nitro racer Lazaro Alonso was able to put a comfortable lead on the field. During the final, Lazaro was able to distance himself from the field while Sean was also able to distance himself from 3rd. The battle for 3rd was between last race winner Anthony Schimizzi and Franco Desiderio and only 1 sec apart in the end, Franco ended up finishing on the podium spot.

1. Lazaro Alonso
2. Sean Wager
3. Franco Desiderio

Source: FSEARA []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: