February 25, 2022

2022 BRCA 1/12th Rd3 & Rd4 report

Rounds 3 and 4 of the BRCA 12th Circuit Nationals were held last weekend in Tamworth. There were classes for GT12 and LMP12 with the LMP12 class running stock 13.5 motors. The Tamworth club are old hands at holding national events and laid out a challenging track with lots of technical sections to test the skill of the 90 drivers booked in across the two classes. The format for the day was a round of open practice, 4 rounds of FTD qualifying and 1 final for all drivers.

In the GT12 class the battle between Nathan Goodban and Daniel Robins would be continued on from the first two rounds in Eastbourne. Daniel took two wins in Eastbourne, so with four rounds from six to count in the championship he would be looking to repeat his results and secure the championship this weekend.

Qualifying got off to a tricky start as the track surface was fairly low grip but with the number of cars running this quickly picked up. At the end of round 4 Dan would lead the time sheets taking pole position ahead of Nathan Goodban and James Taylor. The middle of the field was tightly bunched with Oscar Keen and Stephen Rogers close behind.

The final got off to a perfect start for Daniel with a clean start away from the line. Unfortunately, Nathan wasn’t so fortunate catching an early corner and dropping down the field. James Taylor gave chase but ultimately Dan’s pace was too strong and he would be unchallenged for the win. James Taylor would take second but the battle for third place was a gripping race with Oscar Keen, Stephen Rogers and John Simpson with the junior driver Oscar holding out to secure third.

GT12 A Final Result Round 3
1. Daniel Robbins- Schumacher
2. James Taylor – Schumacher
3. Oscar Keen – Schumacher
4. Stephen Rogers – Schumacher
5. John Simpson – Schumacher
6. Mark Carter – Schumacher
7. Nathan Goodban – Schumacher
8. Michael Laws – Schumacher
9. Michael Hull – Schumacher
10.Mark Keen – Schumacher

In F2 LMP12 Finley Williams was also coming into the race weekend with two wins to his name from the first two rounds. His form was to continue in round 3 placing his car on pole from Stuart Rand and Mark Barford. In the final Finley had a scrappy first lap and dropped down the field allowing Stuart to take an early lead that he then held on to to take the win. Fourth place qualifier Mark Rogers drove an excellent race to take second with Finley making his way back up through the field to finish in third place.

F2 LMP12 A Final Result Round 3
1. Stuart Rand – Roche
2. Mark Rogers – Xray
3. Finley Williams – Roche
4. Peter Stockton – Schumacher
5. Mark Barford – Zen Racing
6. Andy Cottom – Roche
7. Gavin Clinch – Zen Racing
8. Chase Mackman – Schumacher
9. Gary Kirkpatrick –
10.Simon Pole – Schumacher

In F1 LMP12 David Spashett was again the man to beat putting his car securely on pole position ahead of Matt Varah and Adam Mackman. David would lead the final away cleanly but Matt would catch an early corner and drop to the back of the field. Adam Mackman was caught up in the same incident and also dropped back. This promoted Aaron Morley to second place and Mark Stiles up to third. David drove a clean race to take the win but there was a great battle behind for second with Mark sitting really close to Aaron but being unable to find a way past. Mark would have to settle for third finishing just three tenths of a second behind Aaron.

F1 LMP12 A Final Result Round 3
1. David Spashett – Zen Racing
2. Aaron Morley – AM
3. Mark Stiles – Roche
4. Ben Vincent – Roche
5. Adam Mackman – Schumacher
6. Sam Coult – Schumacher
7. Matthew Varah – Roche
8. Mark Jewitt – Schumacher
9. Jody Sherratt – Schumacher
10.Andrew Smith – CRC

Sunday would see round 4 follow the same format and the same track layout. The track had gripped up nicely and times would continue to improve throughout the second day. In GT12 Nathan had found some more pace and took pole position ahead of Dan Robins and Oscar Keen. Nathan got off the line cleanly and managed to build a small gap to Dan with Oscar following in third. Oscar was unable to match the pace of the lead two cars and was having to manage his own race from James Taylor who was close behind. Nathan lead until 4 minutes when he pushed wide on a corner and this allowed Dan to pass as he tried to recover. Nathan was unable to find a way back to the front giving Dan his fourth win from as many rounds. Oscar would driver superbly again and bring his car home for a second successive third place.

With four wins Dan secured the GT12 Championship. Congratulations to Dan Robins, 2022 GT12 National Champion.

GT12 A Final Result Round 4
1. Daniel Robbins- Schumacher
2. Nathan Goodban – Schumacher
3. Oscar Keen – Schumacher
4. James Taylor – Schumacher
5. Stephen Rogers – Schumacher
6. Mark Fitzsimmons – Schumacher
7. George Beard – Schumacher
8. Mark Keen – Schumacher
9. Mark Carter – Schumacher
10.John Simpson – Schumacher

In F2 LMP12 Finley Williams took pole position with a great drive to be the only driver on 35 laps. Stuart Rand was in second place and Mark Rogers in third. There were no problems getting off the line this time for Finley and he then set a blistering pace to make sure he was unchallenged on his way to winning the F2 Final. Stuart would come home in second but behind him there was a battle for third place. Mark would catch a corner early in the race and drop down the field. Third place was then held by James Eaves and then Chase Mackman before finally being secured by Dan Millard in an excellent drive from 9th on the grid.

F2 LMP12 A Final Result Round 4
1. Finley Williams – Roche
2. Stuart Rand – Roche
3. Dan Millard – Roche
4. Chase Mackman – Schumacher
5. Andy Cottom – Schumacher
6. James Eaves – Schumacher
7. Kenneth Rogers – Schumacher
8. Mark Rogers – Xray
9. Gerraint Williams – Xray
10.Gavin Clinch – Zen Racing

In F1 LMP12 David Spashett would line up ahead of Matt Varah and Adam Mackman. All three drivers making it onto 36 laps separating them from the rest of the field. Mark Stiles and Ben Vincent would line up fourth and fifth. David and Matt would get away cleanly at the front of the final but a first corner collision would see Adam drop back down the field and the rest of the field reshuffled. Ben Vincent would make it through into third and he would hold this position to finish behind Matt and David who both had an untroubled race to finish in their qualifying positions. Fourth place went to Stuart Cartwright who from ninth on the grid benefitted from the first corner collision and managed to hold on despite coming under pressure throughout the race.

F1 LMP12 A Final Result Round 4
1. David Spashett – Zen Racing
2. Matthew Varah – Roche
3. Ben Vincent – Roche
4. Stuart Cartwright – Xray
5. Adam Mackman – Schumacher
6. Mark Jewitt – Schumacher
7 Aaron Morley – AM
8.. Scott Morton – Roche
9. Mark Stiles – Roche
10.Jody Sherratt – Schumacher

With Junior drivers, Dan Robins and Oscar Keen at the front of the GT12 A final and Finley Williams at the front of the F2 A final, Sam Coult in the F1 A Final, as well as many other fast juniors throughout the finals it is looking like the 12th Circuit Section has a bright future of driving talent.

The Championship now moves to its conclusion in Chesterfield in March.

Thanks to David Spashett for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: