March 22, 2022

2022 BRCA 1/12th Rd5 & Rd6 report

Rounds 5 and 6 of the BRCA 12th Circuit Nationals were held last weekend in Chesterfield. There were classes for GT12 and LMP12 cars with the LMP12 class running stock 13.5 motors. The Chesterfield club laid a large flowing track with a variety of corners and a few technical challenges. A capacity entry of 90 drivers across the two classes would compete over the two days. The format for the day was a round of open practice, 4 rounds of FTD qualifying and 1 final for all the drivers. Of the three Championships taking place this season only the GT12 championship had been decided at the start of this weekend. In GT12, the current champion, Dan Robins would again line up for the final in pole position ahead of Mark Fitsimmons and Mark Jewitt. It wasn’t to be this time for Dan with Mark Jewitt executing a brilliant pass in the dying laps to take the win. Dan would finish second ahead of James Taylor who had qualified in fourth place.

GT12 A Final Result Round 5
1. Mark Jewitt – Schumacher
2. Daniel Robins – Schumacher
3. James Taylor – Schumacher
4. Stephen Rogers – Zen-Racing
5. Mark Fitzsimmons – Schumacher
6. Oscar Keen – Schumacher
7. John Simpson – Schumacher
8. Michael Hull – Schumacher
9. Mark Keen – Schumacher
10.Ewan Thompson – Schumacher

In F2 LMP12 Finley Williams had one hand on the trophy and was looking to secure it this weekend. He would, however have to contend with a very fast Stuart Rand who was also in contention for the championship and lined up on pole. Mark Barford would line up second after finding form with Finley in third. In the final it was all change with a cracking drive from Gavin Clinch all the way from eighth on the grid to take the win. Finley would come home second with James Eaves completing the podium from 6th place. Stuart would finish in 5th place.

F2 LMP12 A Final Result Round 5
1. Gavin Clinch – Zen Racing
2. Finley Williams – Roche
3. James Eaves – Schumacher
4. Peter Stockton – Schumacher
5. Stuart Rand – Zen-Racing
6. Stan French – Awesomatix
7. Mark Barford – Zen Racing
8. Dan Millard – Roche
9. Nigel Hale – Awesomatix
10.Andy Cottom – Schumacher

In F1 LMP12 David Spashett was favourite to secure the championship having won three of the four rounds so far. He would line up on pole position ahead of Mark Stiles and Ben Vincent. David would finish as the only driver on 36 laps ahead of Mark Stiles and Adam Mackman who moved up from 4th place. This would give David four wins and secured the F1 Championship.

Congratulation David Spashett 2022 BRCA F1 LMP12 Champion.

F1 LMP12 A Final Result Round 5
1. David Spashett – Zen Racing
2. Mark Stiles – Roche
3. Adam Mackman – Schumacher
4. Sam Coult – Schumacher
5. Andy Smith – CRC
6. Andy Murray – Schumacher
7. Ben Vincent – Roche
8. Mark Jordan – Schumacher
9. Aaron Morley – AM
10.Adrian Thorpe – Schumacher

Sunday would see drivers compete again in Round 6 and with a grooved in track, drivers were looking to gain the most from their cars. In GT12 Aiden Ripley would take pole position from James Taylor and Oscar Keen in third. In a thrilling final Oscar would drive a great race to take the win ahead of Aidan and James. A fantastic result for Oscar who at 10 years old has now won a BRCA national and must be a name we will see a lot more of in the future.

GT12 A Final Result Round 6
1. Oscar Keen – Schumacher
2. Aidan Ripley – Schumacher
3. James Taylor – Schumacher
4. Mark Fitzsimmons – Schumacher
5. Stephen Rogers – Zen-Racing
6. Ewan Thompson – Schumacher
7. Alex Robertson – Schumacher
8. John Simpson – Schumacher
9. Colin Leslie – Schumacher
10.Gregg Allan – Schumacher

In F2 LMP12 it was Stuart Rand taking his second pole position of the weekend ahead of Finley Williams and Andy Cottom. Finley would come out on top this time and cement his championship win with four top scores. Stuart would finish second ahead of James Eaves.

Congratulations Finley Williams 2022 BRCA F2 LMP12 Champion.

F2 LMP12 A Final Result Round 6
1. Finley Williams – Roche
2. Stuart Rand – Zen-Racing
3. James Eaves – Schumacher
4. Nigel Hale – Awesomatix
5. Mark Payne – Awesomatix
6. Gavin Clinch – Zen Racing
7. Mark Rogers – Xray
8. Peter Stockton – Schumacher
9. Andy Cottom – Schumacher
10.Daniel Mountford – Roche

In F1 David Spashett would line up first ahead of Louis Parker and Andy Smith. It would be Andy Smith that would bring his car home to take the win having withstood a lot of pressure from David in second place. This would be Andy’s first national win, Congratulations Andy. Louis would complete the podium in third place.

F1 LMP12 A Final Result Round 6
1. Andy Smith – CRC
2. David Spashett – Zen Racing
3. Louis Parker – Schumacher
4. Mark Stiles – Roche
5. Daniel Robins – Schumacher
6. Ben Vincent – Roche
7. Adam Mackman – Schumacher
8. Aaron Morley – AM
9. Jody Sherratt – Schumacher
10.Andy Murray – Schumacher

That concludes the racing for the 2021/2022 season. It’s been a hugely successful return to racing for the section following the disruption that was caused by the pandemic. A big thank you to the clubs who hosted the rounds, the people that made it happen and all the racers that took part. We will return later in the year and with all the new talent on show this season we are sure to have more exciting racing in both the GT12 and LMP12 classes.

Thanks to David Spashett for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: