August 23, 2022

Awesomatix sweeps ETS RD3 at Arena33 – Report

Last weekend, ETS RD3 took place at Arena33 in Andernach, Germany. A well-known track from many ETS races in the past. 190 ETS racers had been on the line in the six racing classes to battle it out on track. The weekend of racing was amazing, especially for Awesomatix. They won all classes, which they are offering a car for (excluding Formula) and showed that they are the strongest brand in electric Onroad racing at the moment.

In the Matrix Modified class, Marc Rheinard took his first ETS race win for Awesomatix since he joined the team. He took the very important pole position in qualifying, and won the first to A-Mains from start to finish. A perfect weekend for the Awesomatix lead driver! Behind race winner Rheinard, the Yokomo duo of Yannic Prümper and Christopher Krapp continued to score amazing results this season, as they took second and third place overall. Mugen Seiki`s Ronald Völker finished fourth, and Lucas Urbain completed the top 5 with his Awesomatix car in a world class field of drivers at ETS RD3.

Overall results of the Matrix Modified class (Car/Electronics)
1. Marc Rheinard (DE) Awesomatix/ORCA
2. Yannic Prümper (DE) Yokomo/Dash
3. Christopher Krapp (DE) Yokomo/Racing Performer
4. Ronald Völker (DE) Mugen Seiki/LRP
5. Lucas Urbain (FR) Awesomatix/Orca
6. Marco Kaufmann (DE) Xray/Hobbywing
7. Eric Dankel (DE) Mugen Seiki/Hobbywing
8. Michal Orlowski (PL) Schumacher/Hobbywing
9. Jan Ratheisky (DE) Xray/Hobbywing
10. Michele Manzo (DE) Awesomatix/Hobbywing
11. Patrick Gollner (AT) Xray/Hobbywing
Winner B-Main: Oliver Havranek (SK) Xray
Winner C-Main: Christian Schlösser (DE)

In the Awesomatix ProStock class, Max Mächler was on the go. He drove brilliant in qualifying and was able to grab the TQ spot for the triple A-Mains ahead of his Awesomatix teammate Simon Lauter and Xray`s Jan Ratheisky. In the finals, Max Mächler was able to pull away from the field and after the second A-Main he celebrated a well-deserved victory in the very competitive Pro Stock class. Simon Lauter, Jan Ratheisky, Alex Kunkler, and Lukas Ellerbrock rounded out the top 5.

Overall results of the Xray ProStock class (Car/Battery)
1. Max Mächler (DE) Awesomatix/Sunpadow
2. Simon Lauter (DE) Awesomatix/LRP
3. Jan Ratheisky (DE) Xray/Nosram
4. Alex Kunkler (FR) Awesomatix/Ruddog
5. Lukas Ellerbrock (DE) Xray/LRP
6. Enrico Jung (DE) Yokomo/GensAce
7. Sören Sparbier (DE) Serpent/Arrowmax
8. Olivier Bultynck (BE) Awesomatix/LRP
9. Louis Kretschmer (DE) Awesomatix/Sunpadow
10. Frederik Hovgaard (DK) Yokomo/Intellect
11. Frederik Mikkelsen (DK) Awesomatix/LRP
Winner B-Main: Alvaro Fernandez (ES) Awesomatix
Winner C-Main: Jacques Libar (LU) Xray
Winner D-Main: Niels Degryze (BE) Destiny

The Hobbywing Frontwheel class saw former world-class touring car racer Freddy Südhoff on the steering wheel again at his “one race comeback”. He quickly adjusted his driving style to the demands of the FWD class and was right on pace after a 2-years break from RC racing. Qualifying was a close affair and Südhoff sealed the TQ spot with clean driving ahead of Serpent`s Sören Sparbier and Awesomatix driver Roman Borschel. The triple A-Mains showed great and entertaining racing with lots of respect between all drivers. The FWD cars are perfect for close racing and Freddy Südhoff had his rear view mirror full of Sparbier and Borschel during the complete runtime of A1 and A2. But Freddy stayed calm, made no mistakes, and took the overall win in the amazing Hobbywing Frontwheel class at ETS RD3 in Germany. Sören Sparbier, Roman Borschel, Kevin Sparbier, and Stefan Schulz completed the top 5.

Overall results of the Hobbywing Frontwheel class (Car/Battery)
1. Freddy Südhoff (DE) Awesomatix/Sunpadow
2. Sören Sparbier (DE) Serpent/Gens Ace
3. Roman Borschel (DE) Awesomatix/LRP
4. Kevin Sparbier (DE) Mugen Seiki/LRP
5. Stefan Schulz (DE) Xray/Gens Ace
6. Max Weffers (DE) Mugen Seiki/Orion
7. Steven Olsen (DK) Awesomatix/LRP
8. Nicolas Delisé (BE) Mugen Seiki/Orca
9. Jill Bartsch (DE) Awesomatix/Sunpadow
10. Caspar Morgen (DK) Xray
11. Jacques Libar (LU) Xray/Team Zombie
Winner B-Main: Ulrich Dinger (DE) Awesomatix
Winner C-Main: Martijn van der Heijden (NL)
Winner D-Main: Markus Ernst (DE) Mugen Seiki
Winner E-Main: Peter Winton (GB) Destiny

The Orca 17.5 Stock class produced great RC racing, and young Jasmin Donath celebrated her first ever ETS race win at Arena33. She started from third place into the finals and was able to win A1 and A2 after pole sitter Fernandez and second place starter Winkler didn`t get it together. Donath showed great driving under high pressure from Reile, Borschel, and Winkler, and her win was one of the highlights of the entire weekend!

Overall Top 10 of the Stock 17.5 class (Car/Battery)
1. Jasmin Donath (DE) Awesomatix/Intellect
2. Joshua Winkler (DE) Awesomatix/Gens Ace
3. Roman Borschel (DE) Awesomatix/Sunpadow
4. Alvaro Fernandez (ES) Awesomatix/Nosram
5. Dominik Ruf (DE) Tamiya/LRP
6. Kevin Schmid (DE) Awesomatix/LRP
7. Dominik Reile (DE) Awesomatix/LRP
8. Daniel Pöhlmann (DE) Awesomatix/Gens Ace
9. Christian Lütjen (DE) Serpent
10. Niclas Storm (DE) Mugen Seiki/Sunpadow
11. Tristan Bergheim (DE) Awesomatix/LRP
Winner B-Main: Michael Koos (DE) Awesomatix

In the ToniSport 40+ Masters class it was Awesomatix driver Manuel Stankowitz who took his first ETS race win from pole position. He drove very strong all weekend, and won the first and third A-Main while Xray driver Caspar Morgen took the second leg. Xray racer Mirco Thalheimer finished in third place overall on the podium, in front of ToniSport`s ETS reporter and Mugen driver Patrick Beck. Torsten Baggendorf, who started from seventh on the grid, finished fifth overall in the Masters class.

Overall result of the Infinity 40+ Masters class (Car/Battery)
1. Manuel Stankowitz (DE) Awesomatix/Orca
2. Caspar Morgen (DK) Xray
3. Mirco Thalheimer (DE) Xray/Nosram
4. Patrick Beck (DE) Mugen Seiki/LRP
5. Torsten Baggendorf (DE) Awesomatix/LRP
6. Toni Mateo (ES) Awesomatix/Nosram
7. Ulrich Dinger (DE) Awesomatix/ LRP
8. Ronald Arts (NL) Awesomatix/Gens Ace
9. Werner Schmitzer (AT) Awesomatix/LRP
10. Joachim Altenhof (DE) Awesomatix/LRP
11. Flavio Paladin (IT) Xray/LRP
Winner B-Main: Frank Fuchs (DE) Awesomatix
Winner C-Main: Thomas Gerber (DE)

In the Scorpion Formula class, Jan Ratheisky was the man to beat. He took the first spot on the grid with his Xray car, with a very fast Andreas Stiebler starting in second with his Schumacher ride. They put on a great show in the finals and raced nose to tail in A1 and A2. In the end, Jan Ratheisky took the overall win from Stiebler, while René Kölbel finished in striking distance and third place. Gergö Valent and Herbert Weber rounded out the top 5 in the Scorpion Formula class.

Overall Top 10 of the Scorpion Formula class (Car/Battery)
1. Jan Ratheisky (DE) Xray/Nosram
2. Andreas Stiebler (AT) Schumacher/Intellect
3. Renè Kölbel (AT) Xray/LRP
4. Gergö Valent (HU) Xray
5. Herbert Weber (AT) Xray/LRP
6. Mark Valent (HU) Xray
7. Oliver Grimm (DE)
8. Michal Wojcik (PL) Xray
9. Robert Kampehl (DE) Exotek/Orca
10. Luka Jovicic (LU) Libar Engineering/Team Zombie
11. Alexander Bremer (DE) Schumacher/LRP
Winner B-Main: Chris Grenz (DE) EF1

ETS RD4 will take place at the amazing track of LMCC Luxembourg from 22nd – 25th of September, directly after the IFMAR world championships in Gubbio, Italy!

Source: ETS []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: