October 3, 2022

ROAR Fuel Onroad National titles for Butterfield & Colon

The ROAR Fuel Onroad National Championships took place over the weekend with Serpent’s Bryce Butterfield and Mugen’s Jose Colon taking the two big wins in Puerto Rico.  Held at Barceloneta RC Speedway, qualifying would see Butterfield top all three rounds of 1:10 200mm with his fastest 4-minute run in Q3 securing him the overall TQ ahead of Infinity/Wallace Motorsports’ DJ Apolaro.  In the 45-minute A-Main, Butterfield would continue that form to win by a 2-lap margin over Serpent team-mate & 4th place qualifier Jose Almonte with Apolaro completing the podium.

In 1:8 qualifying, the top 2 order was reversed with Apolaro securing the TQ from Butterfield with from Juan C. Aguirre and RC legend Joel Johnson completing the Top 4 on the grid.  In the final, Apolaro looked set to take yet another ROAR National title but in the closing stages of the race hit issues eventually retiring with 2-minutes remaining.  With Butterfield having also retired after only 10-minutes of racing, it would be 5th place qualifier Colon who would take the win from Apolaro and Peter Alvarado.  In the 1:8 Masters Final, relative Onroad Nitro newcomer Scotty Ernst took the title from Serpent’s Joaquin De Soto.

Images: Bryce Butterfield & Mugen Seiki


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: