November 7, 2022

Simon Nicolson crowned Australian Champion

Simon Nicolson is the 2022 Australian Electric Touring Car National Champion.  The Yokomo driver took the Mod win of the KWR Engineering sponsored event at the ACT Model Car Racing Club track in Canberra over the weekend.  Having won the Queensland State Championships back in August, Nicolson would secure the TQ after taking three of the five rounds of qualifying.  Behind, having topped Q5, team-mate Antoni Caretti lined up second with the ARC of Jeffrey Mackie, fastest in Q3, P3 ahead of Serpent’s Jeff Hamon.  In the Finals, Nicolson took A1 but with slight rain at the start of A2 he would crash out allowing Mackie to take the win from Hamon.  In A3, the Top 3 would remain static allowing Nicolson to secure the title ahead  with Mackie second and Hamon completing the podium.  Unfortunately it was to be a tough run of finals for Caretti as he got hit each outing leaving him 5th overall.  It was also victory for Yokomo in 13.5 Touring Car, Alex Ilievski taking the win from Cristian Silva and Nathan Tanti.

Image: Castle Hill RC Onroad [Facebook]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: