February 27, 2007

Ari Heinonen wins Valkeakoski Challenge

Ari Heinonen

As we reported recently, Werks had signed their first European driver Ari Heinonen and in his first race for his new sponsor, the Valkeakoski Challenge in Finland last weekend, Ari won both the truggy and buggy classes. The HoBao driver easly won the 45 minute buggy final by over 3 laps from team mate Markku Honkanen who in turn was 2 laps ahead of 3rd place finisher Arto Heinonen. And it was a similar story in the Truggy final where Ari once again won from the pole position spot to win by a lap from Arto Heinonen and Jiri Jokinen, the Cen and HongNor drivers finishing 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Click here to see the top 10 results in both classes… content

February 26, 2007

Vantage Touring car stand

Vantage Touring car stand

We havent covered any Vantage stuff before now because, besides their carbon tuned pipes, they mostly make parts for Monster Trucks and other large scale off roaders. So when i saw this beautiful piece of work, the touring car stand, i didn’t need an excuse to write about it. This stand has been moulded from carbon fibre and is therefore stiff, flat, strong and light as well as being totally bling. It features some foam pads to stop your car sliding off the shiny carbon fibre and well does everything else you want a car stand to do. Available soon.

Source: Vantage [vantageracing.com]

February 26, 2007

Jonas Kaerup wins Corally Days event

2007 Corally Days

Xray have a report on their site about the recent Corally Days event held in Megadrom Geilenkirchen in the west of Germany. The event was won by Jonas Kaerup, who managed to dominate all 3 main finals from his top qualifying position, winning easily ahead of Steven Weiß who finished in a clear 2nd position with Björn Prümper rounding of the podium in 3rd place.

Final 2 was very similar to the first one. After 2min B. Prümper again made a small mistake and Steven jumped into 3rd place closely behind Yannic Prümper. They battled the rest of the race for 2nd place. Steven was able to pass Yannic with 2 laps remaining and finished in 2nd place only 2sec behind Jonas Kearup.

You can read the full race report here.

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]

February 26, 2007

More O’Donnell buggy pictures

O'Donnell buggy

Extreme RC magazine have some more pictures of the new O’Donnell buggy, taken at last weekends Dirt Nitro Challenge in which the car finished 2nd overall in the buggy A-main in the hands of Jared Tebo. Last week we showed you the full picture set as taken by R/C Car magazine but these 2 pictures dont have a huge watermark on them and therefore show some parts very clearly.

Check out the full car pic here… content

February 26, 2007

Dirt Nitro Challenge – Buggy Finals

Dirt Nitro Challenge

We reported yesterday on the truggy and stadium truck finals from the Dirt Nitro Challenge and now it is the turn of the buggies. In what was an exciting race pole man Mike Truhe, the winner of the truggy class at this years event, took another win for Team Losi by leading home the A-main just ahead of a hard charging Jared Tebo. Tebo, who was driving the new O’Donnell buggy, had to bump up from the B-main to take his place in the main event and then went on to lead the race for a while before having to settle for 2nd position. Jammin racer Chad Bradley finished 3rd just ahead of 2nd place qualifier Adam Drake who dropped back during the race to finish 4th. Something to note was the lack of Kyosho cars in the final, despite their factory team being present at the event, including World Champion Mark Pavidis, also worth noting was the poor showing of the Associated buggies that had problems and finished the race in the last two spots in the final.

Click here to view the final results… content

February 25, 2007

Dirt Nitro Challenge – Truggy & Stadium truck Finals

Dirt Nitro Challenge

Our partner site Neo Buggy has the Saturdays final results from Truggy and 1/10th Stadium truck classes from the 2007 Dirt Nitro Challenge held at The Dirt facility in Arizona. In the truggy class it was Team Losi racer Mike Truhe who lead from start to finish to convert his 2nd position into a fine win over second placed racer Chad Bradley who was driving for Jammin whilst rounding of the podium in third place was Cody King racing for Kyosho. Pole man Travis Amezcua had some problems in the race and dropped out of contention finishing in 9th, whilst Yannick Aigoin in his and Xrays first truggy race came home in a respectable 6th position.

In the stadium truck class it was Ryan Maifield who took the win for Team Associated, beating pole man and ROAR National Champion Jared Tebo who finished in 2nd position just ahead of 3rd placed finisher Philip Atondo driving for Losi. The buggy finals will take place today, Sunday, and we hope to bring you the results when we get them.

Click here to see the final Truggy results… content

February 25, 2007

Andy Moore wins the 2007 TITC

Andy Moore 2007 TITC

Top qualifier and current World Champion Andy Moore driving his Team Orion powered Hot Bodies Cyclone has the won the 2007 Thailand International Touring car Championships, the TITC. Fastest in qualifying thanks to a blistering run in the fastest 4th of 5 rounds of qualifying the British racer seemed that he may be in for a bad day after being elminated in the scrappy first A-main final which saw fellow HB racer Ronald Voelker take the win. Ronald was followed home in that final by Tamiya racer Hupo Hoenigl in 2nd and another HB racer Thomas Pumpler in 3rd. content

February 24, 2007

2007 Batley Indoor Supercup revisited

Batley Indoor Supercup

Earlier this week we told you briefly about the Batley Supercup indoor off road event that took place in a big indoor hall in the UK. Well Mr oOple, Jimmy Storey, has a report from the event on his site including, if you missed them the first time round, lots of photos as well as interviews and other bits and pieces.

The last lap turned into a real fight between Ellis Stafford in 2nd and Richard Taylor in 3rd – looking for any way he could to get past Ellis’ X-6. Ellis held on for the 2nd place whilst also posting the single fastest lap in the final – richard got 3rd and Neil was already picking up his trophy for the second time in a row.

Check out the report here.

Source: oOple [oople.com]