July 2, 2007

D’hondt & Renaux win Benelux Champs

D'hondt wins Benelux Champs

Last weekend at the Roeselare track in Belgium saw the 2007 Benelux Championships take place for 1/8th and 1/10th scale classes. The event is open to drivers from within the Benelux – Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg, and despite the predicted bad weather a lot of top drivers turned up for the event. Qualifying took place on Saturday in damp conditions and in the 1/8th scale class it was Steven Cuypers that claimed the pole position, heading a Serpent 1-2-3 with John Ermen in 2nd and Robin D’hondt in 3rd. In the 1/10th scale class it was Xray driver Jilles Groskamp that took the pole position by only 3 tenths ahead of 2nd placed Jerome Renaux, racing for Kyosho.

Read more…

The finals on Sunday were held in dry but overcast conditions and in the 1/8th scale final, after Ermen, Ilia Van Gastel and Cuypers dropped out it was an easy win for Serpent racer D’hondt, who took the chequered flag with a 12 lap margin back to 2nd placed Gunther Van Staey racing for Kyosho, while 3rd spot fell to Motonica driver Tom Smolderen. In the 1/10th scale final, pole man Groskamp was not present due to leaving for home on Saturday thinking the weather would be very wet on the Sunday, as per all the predictions, but that wasn’t the case and the final went on without him. With Jilles gone it was left to Euro B finalist Renaux to lead off the grid, a position that he held till the end, winning by 1 lap from Serpent racer Remy Moller in 2nd with Nick Cuypers, also racing a Serpent, finishing in 3rd.

1/8th final results
1. D’hondt Robin – 187L 00:45:01.181
2. Van Staey Gunther – 175L 00:45:05.960
3. Smolderen Tom – 169L 00:45:10.801
4. Bourgeois Michel – 167L 00:45:14.832
5. Vandereyt Eric – 162L 00:45:11.508
6. Joosen Koen – 162L 00:45:12.991
7. Cuypers Steven – 154L 00:39:25.479
8. Van Gastel Ilia – 150L 00:36:26.688
9. Thys Peter – 102L 00:26:01.494
10. Ermen John – 51L 00:12:54.459

Renaux wins Benelux Champs

1/10th final results
1. Renaux Jerome – 165L 00:45:12.087
2. Moller Remy – 164L 00:45:06.923
3. Cuypers Nick – 160L 00:45:13.120
4. Geurts Koen – 155L 00:45:02.977
5. Riffon Olivier – 140L 00:45:10.448
6. Depooter Jan – 125L 00:45:06.017
7. Vandewynckel Nico – 95L 00:27:09.655
8. Kempeneers Maarten – 70L 00:22:47.378
9. Maxim Claes – 16L 00:10:11.922
10. Groskamp Jilles – DNS

Thanks to Ruben D’Arco for the Images


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: