December 21, 2011

LMI Racing Team wins Hildesheim 6 hour

LMI Racing Team wins Hildesheim 6 hour

This year the annual six hour endurance race took place in Hildesheim and with more than 36 drivers in about twelve teams the race was building up to be a good one. One of the few requirements this year was the use of GT bodies, which meant that no touring car bodies were allowed at all. Four teams started with a Sakura S by 3-Racing and in these four teams there were big names like European champion Jan Asmer or Bernd Hasselbring, reigning European champion 1/10 scale 40+.

Last year’s winning combo Merlin Depta and Juergen Hennemuth were joined by their new team member Lars Hoppe to enter for the six hours as “LMI Racing Team”. The trio also started with a Sakura S, which had been modified by Bente-CNC, assuring super fast pit stops, to have an advantage during battery changes. Also this year the starting grid had been drawn, with LMI Racing Team starting from position three. Lars who drove the first turn was able to pull away right from the start and increase the gap to the rest of the field. Pretty close behind them, the second Sakura team consisting of Bernd Hasselbring, Fabian Tasak and Timo Schroeder tried to keep up with the leaders. Following a broken gear after four minutes of racing Jan Asmer and Andreas Salzburg had to battle from the back of the field to eventually finish in third place.

After six hours of racing the final results were:
1. LMI Racing Team – Depta/Hoppe/Hennemuth – 1393 laps
2. Team Sakura – Hasselbring/Tasak/Schröder – 1364 laps
3. Red Kiwi Racing – Salzburg/Asmer – 1282 laps

Source: LMI


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: