October 1, 2013

LRP-HPI-Challenge 2013 finale – Report

LRP-HPI-Challenge 2013 finale - Report

This year’s LRP-HPI-Challenge finale took place at the challenging track of the RCCT Münden club. The 14th running of the series attracted over 1200 drivers in total in the 2012/13 season with more than 150 of them attending at the series’ finale in the Rookie, Classic, 17.5T and Stock classes. The fastest class of the LRP-HPI-Challenge is the Stock-Challenge with the cars reaching almost 60km/h using LRP’s X12 SS 10.5T motor. Local driver Kevin Blume proved to be the man of the weekend taking profit of his track knowledge. In A1, he overtook top qualifier Lars Hoppe and drove to victory. The second final already brought the decision as again, TQ Lars wasn’t able to keep it up with the pace of Kevin who celebrated an early victory in the Stock-Challenge. By winning A3, Lars Hoppe secured the second place overall ahead of Sascha Speck.

1. Kevin Blume – Serpent/LRP/Thunder Power
2. Lars Hoppe – ARC/LRP/GM
3. Sascha Speck – Awesomatix/LRP/IP

The 17.5T-Challenge traditionally is the class with the largest field of competitors making for close racing. In A1, pole setter Sebastian Meibörg finished fourth, while Moritz Flügge took the victory. The second final went better for the top qualifier: he drove to a hard-fought victory ahead of Thimo Weissbauer who had qualified fifth with Oliver Günther in tow. Therefore the last final had to bring the decision with four drivers still had the chance to win. Everybody could witness a real drama. Thimo Weissbauer won the leg and seemed to be this year’s champion overwhelmed and excited about his victory, he missed to bring his car to the technical inspection. Consequently, he got disqualified and Sebastian Meibörg took the title ahead of Moritz Flügge and Oliver Günther.

LRP-HPI-Challenge 2013 finale - Report

1. Sebastian Meibörg – Serpent/LRP/Gens Ace
2. Moritz Flügge – Serpent/LRP/GM
3. Oliver Günther – Yokomo/LRP/LRP

The final of the Classic Challenge, run with X12 SS 17.5T motors, proved to be extremely thrilling. Pole setter Jochen Janik won the first final ahead of Ian Schacht and Matthias Poggensee. A2 saw Jochen dropping out, giving Ian the possibility to win. The last run had to bring the decision and had Jochen and Ian driving wheel to wheel until Jochen’s car got involved into a crash with a lapped car. In the end Ian Schacht was the lucky winner of the race, ahead of Jochen Janik and Matthias Poggensee.

LRP-HPI-Challenge 2013 finale - Report

1. Ian Schacht – HPI/LRP/LRP
2. Jochen Janik – HPI/LRP/LRP
3. Matthias Poggensee – HPI/LRP/LRP

Martin Ciongawa dominated the Rookie Challenge class from qualification to final. Only Nils Kufalk was partly able to keep up with his pace and finished second. Young Jolene Henning crossed the line third. The series’ rules will have all three podium finishers starting in faster classes next season.

LRP-HPI-Challenge 2013 finale - Report

1. Martin Ciongawa – Maverick/LRP/LRP
2. Nils Kufalk – LRP/LRP/LRP
3. Jolene Henning – LRP/LRP/LRP

Source: LRP [lrp.cc]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: