December 4, 2013

Wayne Joelson wins SA 1/8th national title

Wayne Joelson wins SA 1/8th national title

The 4th and final round of the South African nitro on-road nationals took place at the TRAP racing facility just outside the capital city of Tshwane. Nearly 60 drivers from around South Africa attended the event for both 1/10th touring and 1/8th scale. Having already won the championship after 3 rounds the top qualifier in the 1/8th class was current SA champion Wayne Joelson (Mugen Seiki/Novarossi) followed closely by Dawie vd Merwe (Mugen Seiki/Novarossi) and Imtiaz Salie (Mugen Seiki/Max). The final then was won by Imtiaz Salie who took his first 1/8th scale victory and secured the vice championship.

1/8th final standing
1. Wayne Joelson – Mugen/Novarossi/Contact Tyres
2. Imtiaz Salie – Mugen/Max/Contact Tyres
3. Daryn Green – Serpent/Reds/Contact Tyres
4. Dave Wiseman – Serpent/Xceed/Xceed
5. Henry Mostert – Mugen/Novarossi/Contact Tyres
6. Steven Smit – Mugen/Novarossi/Contact Tyres
7. Dawie van der Merwe – Mugen/Novarossi/Contact Tyres
8. Johan Kirsten – Mugen/Novarossi/Contact Tyres
9. Beyers Hattingh – Mugen/OS/Contact Tyres
10.Willie Noordman – Mugen/Novarossi/Contact Tyres

Thanks to Wayne Joelson for sending the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: