March 2, 2015

Alexander Hagberg wins at 2015 TITC

Alexander Hagberg wins at 2015 TITC

The annual Thailand International Touring Championships was held in hot and humid Bangkok, Thailand over the weekend. For the 2015 edition the event came back to the famous RC Addict circuit. The race is particularly difficult and competitive since many of the world’s top RC drivers call Bangkok their home and this year the event saw more than 300+ competitors from all over Asia attending in five different classes. The super competitive Modified class as usual saw most of the world’s top drivers attending. As usual tyre strategy was key as every driver was allowed a maximum of four sets for the six rounds of qualifying of which three counted towards the qualifying result. In the end Alexander Hagberg managed to take the overall TQ with two 1st place and one 2nd place finishes in front of teammate Bruno Coelho.

Alexander Hagberg wins at 2015 TITC

The opening A-main saw a close fight between Alex and Bruno until the latter accidentally tapped the outer wall on the main straight which caused his car to become unsettled which allowed Hagberg to cruise to the win in leg 1. A-main 2 saw Bruno Coelho and Meen V. having a coming together in the opening stages which would end their race early. Ronald Völker made use of the situation and started to chase Alex but the Swede managed to keep a steady gap until the finish line to take the win in leg 2 and with it the overall Modified class win. Alex then sat out A3 to watch Bruno and Meen fighting for the runner-up spot. With both drivers being on virtually new tyres the race was on for the win in A3. While Meen made use of a small error of Bruno in the sweeper following the main straight and the latter soon after tried to get the lead back both drivers collided after Meen shut the door which send Bruno’s car on the roof. Bruno the tried to recover but at the end he only finished in 5th place overall while Meen Vejrak came in 2nd and Ronald Völker rounded out the podium in 3rd.

Modified results:
1. Alexander Hagberg
2. Meen Vejrak
3. Ronald Völker
4. Jilles Groskamp
5. Bruno Coelho
6. Chavit Sirigupta
7. Nicholas Lee
8. Atsushi Hara
9. Marc Rheinard
10.Viktor Wilck

Source: Xray []


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: