September 7, 2016

2016 Pro10 German National Championship – Report

2016 Pro10 German National Championship – Report

The 27th Pro10 German National Championship was held this past weekend at the MSC Rötz track in the south-east of the country. The open championship attracted racers from The Netherlands, Switzerland, the Czech Republic and Germany. The warm-up race about four weeks ago saw Tobias Weist taking the win in the Modified class while Tim Schad walked away with the win in the Stock category. Both were also the pre-event favourites beside the always quick Tim Altmann in Modified and 2015 Stock champion, Robert Klier who also started in Modified this year.

Free practice started on Thursday morning under ideal weather conditions and in Modified it was Tobias Weist who scored swift times from the get go and he would smash the track record in the process, scoring a 13.109s in the qualifiers that he would sweep to take the overall TQ from Tim Altmann and Kai Altmann. All three were able to pull low 22-laps runs with Tobias being the only one to break into the 23rd lap in Q6.

Modified A-main starting grid:
1. Tobias Weist
2. Tim Altmann
3. Kai Altmann
4. Maxi Vief
5. Timo Schad
6. Reinder Wilms
7. Andreas Dick
8. Werner Bergbauer
9. Joachim Behnken
10.Alexander Krenn

The Stock class was dominated by Timo Schad who swept the qualifiers to take the overall TQ from Rainer Schad and Alexander Wild. Timo’s domination allowed him to even sit out the remaining two qualifiers on Sunday morning to focus on the Modified class.

Stock A-main starting grid:
1. Timo Schad
2. Rainder Schad
3. Alexander Wild
4. Mathijs Hermens
5. Marlon Beuershausen
6. Andreas Kofler
7. Jörn Bauer
8. Franz-Jakob Reinartz
9. Sascha Lennartz

Right from the start of the opening Modified A-main, Tim was in attack mode and he tried to find a way past Tobias which lead to a coming together at the beginning of the main straight. This allowed Kai to take over the lead and a recovering Tim soon after regained the lead from Kai. At the end Tim was able to bring home the win with a 1-second margin over Kai while Maxi scored a third place, leaving Tobias behind by four tenth of a second. Right at the start of A2 heavy downpour brought things to a halt, leaving the organisers no choice but to stop the leg. It was then decided to start A3 a bit earlier than planned and to re-run A2 afterwards. The rain then made for some entertaining legs and it was reigning German National Champion, Tim Altmann who made the best out of the conditions by taking the win in A3 to take the overall victory, his second in a row and fifth overall. Timo Schad and Andreas Dick ended the leg in second and third respectively. For A3 the track had dried up again but just in time for the start it began to rain again, forcing the drivers to quickly grab their rain cars. Ultimately the re-run A2 was won by Timo Schad from Joachim Behnken and Kai Altmann. Tim and Tobias ended the race in fourth and fifth. Overall Timo would take the runner-up spot thanks to his win in the final leg with Kai Altmann completing the top 3. Joachim Behnken took the fourth place and with it the 40+ title from four-times champion, Werner Bergbauer.

Modified final results:
1. Tim Altmann
2. Timo Schad
3. Kai Altmann
4. Joachim Behnken
5. Maxi Vief
6. Tobias Weist
7. Andreas Dick
8. Werner Bergbauer
9. Reinder Wilms
10.Alexander Krenn

In the opening Stock class A-main Rainer held the upper hand over Timo at the start and he would bring home the win from Alexander Wild while Timo was in a battle with Marlon with both loosing valuable time. At the start of A2 dark clouds came up but the leg would be held in dry conditions. With both Timo and Rainer suffering issues shortly after the start it was Alexander Wild who brought home the win from the 3 spot on the grid. Mathijs and Marlon came in second and third. The third and final Stock A-main would be held in wet conditions and with only four drivers attending it was Timo to bring home the win from the pole position in front of Mathijs, Sascha and Franz-Jakob. Overall Alexander Wild would bring home the title despite not attending A3. Timo Schad secured himself the vice-championship title thanks to his win in A3 and Mathijs Hermens completed the top 3 result.

2016 Pro10 German National Championship – Report

Stock final results:
1. Alexander Wild
2. Timo Schad
3. Mathijs Hermens
4. Rainer Schad
5. Marlon Beuershausen
6. Sascha Lennartz
7. Franz-Jakob Reinartz
8. Jörn Bauer
9. Andreas Kofler

Thanks to Tobis Weist for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: