September 20, 2018

2018 New South Wales State Titles – Report

The 2018 RCRA New South Wales State titles saw drivers from the local club, other New South Wales clubs as well as a strong group of Queensland drivers come to race at Glen Innes, a rural town on the Northern Tablelands of New South Wales. A new track layout was just finished and would provide a challenge for all drivers. With the grippe track, bumps and some tricky jumps, 2WD Mod was always going to be about buggy placement and not pushing too hard in the wrong places. Current Australian 2WD Mod champ Christopher Sturdy took the TQ from Mitchell Pratt in 2nd and Jason Ryan in 3rd. A1 and A2 was all Christopher Sturdy taking the title over Mitchell Pratt in 2nd with Troy Milton coming from 5th on the grid to take 3rd.

In 4WD Mod the pace was red hot in this class, with Mitchell Pratt taking Q1 after Christopher Sturdy had a problem in the warm up lap after a bad landing off a jump put him out, but it was all Christopher in the following three qualifiers taking the TQ with Mitchell Pratt in 2nd and Cam Sautelle in 3rd. The finals were Christopher Sturdy taking the title from Mitchell Pratt in 2nd and Jason Ryan in 3rd.

Mod Truck was always going to be tricky on this track especially with the wind picking up though the day, a small group of drivers were up to the challenge. Mitchell Pratt took out the TQ followed by long time truck racer Alan Stons in 2nd and David Mathews in 3rd. The finals were all Mitchell Pratt taking A1 and A2 from Alan Stons in 2nd and from 5th place Michael Paul taking 3rd.

With a bit of wind on Sunday the 2WD Short Course Truck were going to be a hand full on the big jumps. Alan Stons took the TQ from Troy Milton in 2d and Kyle Fox in 3rd. Troy Milton taking A1 and A2 to take the title from Kyle Fox in 2nd and Alan Stons in 3rd.

With 2WD 17.5 stock running the Much More controlled motor, this would keep the racing tight with Chris Primmer taking the TQ over Peter Eggleton and Aden Young. Chris Primmer took A1 and A2 to take the title, followed by Peter Eggleton in 2nd and Mathew Parsey coming home 3rd.

With 4WD Stock running the same controlled motor as 2WD it was going to be a tight battle once again. As in 2WD Stock the day before it was Chris Primmer leading the way and taking the TQ from Mathew Parsey in 2nd and Peter Eggleton in 3rd. The finals were a mixed affair with Matt Parsey taking A1, Chris Primmer A2 and Peter Eggleton A3. After the mixed results it was Mathew Parsey taking the title from Peter Eggleton and Luke Rich from 5th on the grid to 3rd.

The 17.5 Junior class is growing around the country with the best young drivers showing up to see who could take the title. Only a small group of young stars from 8yo started qualifying with Jak Parsey being the class of the field. After the four rounds of qualifying it saw Jak Parsey taking the TQ, followed by Luke McMullin in 2nd and Mathew Pickham getting 3rd after a tie break with Quinn Perkins. In the finals it was Jak Parsey who showed his speed by taking A1 and A3 to take the win, Luke McMullin in 2nd after his win in A2 and from 5th starting position a fast charging Tristen Rich taking 3rd.

Thanks to Gary Sturdy for the report.


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: