February 27, 2023

Maifield defends Dirt Nitro Challenge Buggy title

Ryan Maifield has taken the big win at the Dirt Nitro Challenge, the Tekno driver winning a thrilling 1:8 Nitro Buggy final to defend his title from TLR’s Dakotah Phend.  The 24th running of World renowned track builder Joey Christensen’s signature event, the race in Perris California started on one track but switched to a hastily prepared smaller covered track as rain arrived replacing the SoCal sunshine.  In qualifying it was Phend who had the pace topping both qualifiers, his opening round the faster time.  Second fastest in Q1 it was HB Racing’s Cole Ogden who would line-up directly behind Phend for the 45-minute final followed by Xray’s Ty Tessmann and Maifield, his best run being a P3 in the second qualifier.  With the running order Phend from Maifield for most of the race, things turned just inside 10-minutes to go with a bad lap from Phend allowing Maifield to the front.  Despite Phend’s best efforts, it was going to be yet another DNC title for Maifield as they took the finish separated by just 1.6-seconds.  Tessmann would complete the Buggy podium having won the previous day’s Nitro Truggy Final from Phend and Maifield.  Phend would a the win in eBuggy with victory over Juan Carlos Canas and Mason Fuller.

Image: Ty Tessmann [Facebook]


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: