May 16, 2024

Brazilian Nitro Onroad Nationals Round 1 – Report

The first round of the 2024 Brazilian Nitro Onroad Nationals was held in Florianópolis, SC, Brazil, recently. Despite delays caused by heavy rains in the area which decreased practice times for all participants, the finals happened on Sunday under much desired sunny weather. With record attendance for such an event after an ongoing economic downturn and some long term effects of the pandemic on the closure of many tracks and shops, the event was a success, with 46 registered drivers including two from Argentina as well. The event was divided in four categories; 1:8 GT, 1:8 Onroad and 1:10 Touring Car, the latter divided in two grids of Sport and Racer. Sport designated for rookies while the Racer category was for seasoned drivers.

1:8 Onroad Finals

After blistering qualifying times and what looked like a record breaking final, Flavio Elias (Capricorn) had engine issues and retired with enough laps to hold into third place. Eduardo Dulac (Capricorn) comfortably took the victory on this first race and Rodrigo Feltrim (Capricorn) finished second.

1:8 GT Finals

The Argentinian driver Hernan Uner (WIRC) was able to hold into the lead for most of the race and managed to finish first with a very consistent race, as other drivers such as Sandro Cabrera had difficulties overtaking the backmarkers and dealing with engine problems. Among the chaos, Lincoln Almeida (WIRC) and Chico Lima (Xray) were able to capitalize on the situation and scored second and third places respectively.

1:10 TC Sport Finals

Despite being an entry level series, many of the Sport drivers were turning laps less than a second slower than Racer Drivers. This race also featured the youngest driver of the event, 8 years old João Dulac (4th place). With bumper to bumper races from start to finish, George Koerich (Inf1nity) finished first, followed by Patrick Almeida (Capricorn) and Antonio Vilaca (Mugen Seiki).

1:10 TC Racer Finals

Guillermo San Martino (Capricorn) was another Argentinian driver who was consistently fast across the entire event but had to retire halfway through the race due to a failure on the rear suspension. Other strong contenders such as João Helio (Kyosho) and Alexandre Kimura (KM) also faced issues during the finals. This led the way to Cristiano Carpinelli (Capricorn) winning the race with relative tranquility, although he also had a delay during one of the tire changes. Gustavo Issao Takara (Mugen Seiki) finished second and Jose Carlos Dias (WIRC) finished third.

Thanks to Flávio Yoshio Tamashiro for the report


If you republish any elements from this page on another website, including text, original pictures or results please be sure to add a link back to this page as the source: