December 22, 2006

Cody King signs to Sirio

Cody King signs to Sirio

Our partner site Neo Buggy are reporting that top US Kyosho off road racer Cody King has made the move to Sirio engines after previously running with the Team Orion made WASP motors. This is of course the exact opposite move made by Adrien Bertin 2 days ago, but of course thats just coincedence.

Source: Neo-Buggy []

December 21, 2006

Oren Levy is Israeli HotWheels Champion

Oren Levy

Xray are reporting on their site that they have won last weekend HotWheels Israeli Championship for 1/8th off road buggies. The championship results were decided in the final race of the year and it was Oren Levy driving the Xray XB8 that took the title ahead of Yaniv Sivan in 2nd place and another Xray racer Yosi Stern in 3rd.

The XRAY team was driving awesome this season. All team members reported that the car was handling very well and all were very satisfied with the car’s performance and handling. Most racers succeeded in improving their results during this season using the superb XRAY XB8TQ kit.

Read the full report here.

Source: Xray []

December 20, 2006

David Crompton confirmed for Team Magic

David Crompton confirmed for Team Magic

After David Cromptons debut last weekend at the Neo Invitational in which he drove the all new Team Magic M1B and got into the main final, it seem obvious that the British Champion was destined to race this car in 2007, and now it has been confirmed.

CML are very excited about having the top driver in British Rallycross to help bring this car to the market and look forward to a enjoyable and fruitful season. David will be joined in the Team Magic camp by Dave Bailey, another top driver from the CML stable and we believe with these two drivers we have very strong driver line up to promote the M1-B.

Source: CML []

December 19, 2006

Chris Doughty reports on his 1/8th buggy debut

Chris Doughty Neo Invitational

Former 1/10th scale 4wd electric buggy European Champion Chris Doughty made his 1/8th scale gas buggy race debut last weekend at the Neo Invitational Indoor event. Driving his LRP powered HoBao he put on a solid show to claim 17th overall and even managed to bump up from his 1/4 final into the semi despite struggling with longer than 5 minute run times and only loosing his fuel stop virginity during his first final.

He has written a long and detailed report on his race weekend so check it out here.

Source: Doughty UK []

December 18, 2006

oOple pictures from the 2006 Neo Invitational race

Oople Neo Invitational

Top RC action photographer oOple (Jimmy Storey) has uploaded his amazing photo set from the 2006 Neo Invitational event. They really capture the athmosphere and excitement of the event and i know i keep going on about, but he takes some of the best action shots you’re likely to see. oOple also did a report from the event which contains interviews and insight so if you haven’t seen that yet be sure to check it out.

View the oOple race report here. View the photo gallery here, here and here.

December 17, 2006

Adam Drake reigns supreme at 2006 Neo Invitational

Adam Drake

Adam Drake, as expected has won the 2006 Neo Invitational event in both buggy and Truggy classes. The class of the field all weekend, the American Team Losi racer won with ease by 3 laps over second place Crono driver Davide Tortorici in 2nd and with Greg Degani in 3rd driving for HoBao. In the truggy class it was more of the same for ‘The Drake’ but the margin was less than a lap this time over the 2nd placed CEN racer Andrew Smolnik with Graham Alsop a further 2 laps back driving a HoBao rounding off the podium.

Click more to view the A final finishing results for both classes… content

December 15, 2006

Apolaro and Gray win Rd4 of Florida State Series

Florida State Series

Serpent are reporting on their site that DJ Apolaro and Scotty Gray have won round 4 of the FORGASS Florida State Series held last weekend at Homestead RC Speedway in Miami. DJ Apolaro was running the Serpent 720 in the Sedan class and won easily by 2 laps ahead of teammate Danny Horta in 2nd with Andrew Duperrouzel in 3rd. Meanwhile Scotty Gray was using his Serpent 960 to good effect, finishing just over a second ahead of team mate Paolo Morganti to take the win with Vince Tate 6 laps further back in 3rd position.

Read the full report with results here.

Source: Serpent []