February 25, 2007

Dirt Nitro Challenge – Truggy & Stadium truck Finals

Dirt Nitro Challenge

Our partner site Neo Buggy has the Saturdays final results from Truggy and 1/10th Stadium truck classes from the 2007 Dirt Nitro Challenge held at The Dirt facility in Arizona. In the truggy class it was Team Losi racer Mike Truhe who lead from start to finish to convert his 2nd position into a fine win over second placed racer Chad Bradley who was driving for Jammin whilst rounding of the podium in third place was Cody King racing for Kyosho. Pole man Travis Amezcua had some problems in the race and dropped out of contention finishing in 9th, whilst Yannick Aigoin in his and Xrays first truggy race came home in a respectable 6th position.

In the stadium truck class it was Ryan Maifield who took the win for Team Associated, beating pole man and ROAR National Champion Jared Tebo who finished in 2nd position just ahead of 3rd placed finisher Philip Atondo driving for Losi. The buggy finals will take place today, Sunday, and we hope to bring you the results when we get them.

Click here to see the final Truggy results… content

February 25, 2007

Andy Moore wins the 2007 TITC

Andy Moore 2007 TITC

Top qualifier and current World Champion Andy Moore driving his Team Orion powered Hot Bodies Cyclone has the won the 2007 Thailand International Touring car Championships, the TITC. Fastest in qualifying thanks to a blistering run in the fastest 4th of 5 rounds of qualifying the British racer seemed that he may be in for a bad day after being elminated in the scrappy first A-main final which saw fellow HB racer Ronald Voelker take the win. Ronald was followed home in that final by Tamiya racer Hupo Hoenigl in 2nd and another HB racer Thomas Pumpler in 3rd. content

February 24, 2007

2007 Batley Indoor Supercup revisited

Batley Indoor Supercup

Earlier this week we told you briefly about the Batley Supercup indoor off road event that took place in a big indoor hall in the UK. Well Mr oOple, Jimmy Storey, has a report from the event on his site including, if you missed them the first time round, lots of photos as well as interviews and other bits and pieces.

The last lap turned into a real fight between Ellis Stafford in 2nd and Richard Taylor in 3rd – looking for any way he could to get past Ellis’ X-6. Ellis held on for the 2nd place whilst also posting the single fastest lap in the final – richard got 3rd and Neil was already picking up his trophy for the second time in a row.

Check out the report here.

Source: oOple [oople.com]

February 24, 2007

Dirt Nitro Challenge – Qualifying

Dirt Nitro Challenge

This weekend also sees the running of the Dirt Nitro Challenge in the Dirt racing facility in Phoenix, Arizona. Attracting an incredible entry of 390 racers in 3 classes this race is one of the premier off road races in the United States. The track looks awesone but was flooded in recent rains and this disrupted the practice schedule for all racers, but they got it sorted and got straight into the racing. Qualifying for the trucks took place on Thursday and that was led by Losi racer Travis Amezcua with his team mate Mike Truhe close behind in 2nd. Taylor James is next up in 3rd, the Futaba Nitro Challenge winner placing ahead of 4th place Cody King racing a Kyosho.

The buggy qualifying took place yesterday, Friday, and that was once more dominated by the Losi 8ight, this time in the hands of Mike Truhe who got the better of his well known and extremely fast team mate Adam Drake who ended up 2nd. Taylor James once more ending up 3rd fastest with his Jammin buggy just in front of his team mate Chad Bradley. European Champion Yannick Aigoin is also at the event, racing both classes with his Xray, but despite making the A-main in the truggy class, he is struggling in buggy and lines up in the B-main hoping to be able to bump up and take part in the main event. Also of note is that Team Associated have placed two of the RC8 buggies in the A-main with Ryan Maifield in 6th and Ryan Cavalieri in 9th while O’Donnell, whose buggy we showed you pictures off this week, is struggling in the hands of the 1/10th truck pole man Jared Tebo and will only start in the B-main in 1/8th buggy.

Finals starts Saturday but you can check out the top qualifiers here… content

February 24, 2007

2007 TITC – Saturday qualifying

2007 TITC

Andy Moore has topped the qualifying sheets at the 2007 TITC, showing the top form that saw him become World Champion last year. Driving his Hot Bodies Cyclone, Moore managed to put in a blistering pace in the fastest last round to be the only driver to make it into the 21 lap range to take the top spot by over 4 seconds from Tamiya driver Hupo Hoenigl who moved up from nowhere before the final qualifying round to line up in 2nd. In 3rd position is DHI cup winner Ronald Voelker with the HB Cyclone who takes his place ahead of 4th and 5th place racers Jilles Groskamp and Atsushi Hara, racing Xray and HB respectively. The fact that 2nd – 6th positions are covered by 2 tenths of a second shows the tight competition at this event as well as showing the amazing pace of Moore who is so far up front.

Click more to see the top 10 qualifiers… content

February 23, 2007

2007 TITC – Friday Controlled Practice


Yesterday we told you all about this years TITC in Thailand and today the event got underway with controlled practice for all the assembled drivers. In crazy heat once more it was Atsushi Hara with his Team Checkpoint powered Hot Bodies Cyclone that set the pace with Hido Kitazawa driving a Tamiya only 2 seconds behind. In 3rd was HB cyclone racer Surikarn C. while it was yet another HB racer in 4th with Olly Jeffries from the UK doing a great job. Andy Moore was on a fast run in the faster 2nd run but crashed out while Ronald Voelker broke a belt in his tire, ending his run. Qualifying starts tomorrow and we hope to bring you the results at the end of the day.

For pictures from the event until now, you can go here, here and here.

Click more to see the top 10 fastest… content

February 23, 2007

Stewart Wilcox joins Team Losi

Stuart Wilcox

Top British off road racer and long time Mugen driver has made the switch to Team Losi to race the all conquering 8ight. Powered by Novarossi, with additional backing from KO Propo and LRP, Stewart will join the Helger Racing team to contest the National championship this year with his new ride.

With the start of the season only just around the corner time is short but Stewart feels confident he can be up to speed and ready for the first national. Not only do we benefit from Stewarts driving skill and technical knowledge but also customer support trackside from Models in motion.

Source: Helger Racing [helgerracing.com]

February 23, 2007

Much More Motor Master Limited Edition

Much More Motor Master

Earlier today we showed you some limited edition tire warmers from Much More, well we now have some more limited editions bits from the Korean company, this time its the Motor Master that gets the seal of approval and lick of colour from Andy and Marc. Based on the original Motor Master that can run in your motors and loads of other stuff including acting as a power supply, the limited edition versions feature black LCD and come in Purple and Blue, for Andy Moore and Marc Rheinard and feature their logo on the casing, just in case you get confused.

Check out the Andy Moore version here… content