March 19, 2007

Mark Green wins 1/8th scale Pre Worlds in Argentina

Pre Worlds in Argentina

Mark Green has won the 2007 pre World Championships held last week at the host track in Cordoba, Argentina. Racing the only Serpent 960 in the final, Mark was in good company with some of the best Italian racers present at the event, including current World Champion Lamberto Collari. In the end Mark could win easily, showing great pace to win by a lap ahead of current 1/10th European Champion Dario Balestri who was driving the all Italian combination of Novarossi powered Motonica. Marco Vanni brought his Mugen home in 3rd, ahead of prevous Worlds finalist Walter Salemi also driving a Mugen. Masao Tanaka was making his international debut for Motonica and finished in 6th, giving a strong showing for this car while the other Japanese in the final was current 1/10th World Champion Keisuke Fukuda who suffered problems ending his race in 9th, one place ahead of World Champ Collari who retired early on due to radio problems.

View the final top ten results here… content

March 19, 2007

John Van Beers wins Ultimate Open

John Van Beers

Xray have a report on their site from John Van Beers about the recent Ultimate Open race, run by the Taranaki Radio Control Car Club in New Plymouth, New Zealand. The event attracted approximately 100 entrants and brought together both gas and electric racers for the one event with the Stock electric class being the most popular with over 30 entrants. In the stock class it was Xray driver John Van Beers that claimed the TQ with his T2 chassis and he carried that pace into the finals where, despite some incidents, managed to take 1 second place and 2 wins on his way to the overall title followed home by Leon Dravitzki in 2nd and Murray Hodges in 3rd.

You can read the full report from the event here.

Source: Xray []

March 19, 2007

Cavalieri and Maifield dominate Cactus Classic

Cavalieri and Maifield

As in qualifying, the racing at this years Cactus Classic was dominated by the Team Associated pairing of Ryan Cavalieri and Ryan Maifield, between them picking up all the big trophies in the modified classes. In the 4wd buggy mod class it was Cavalieri who took the win despite a disastrous 1st main where he only finished 9th allowing Masami Hirosaka to take the round win, but Ryan was able to pull it back together to take the wins in the final 2 mains to take the overall win, with Yokomo racer Hirosaka ending up in 2nd, with Maifield in 3rd. In 2wd mod, the Ryans were reversed with Maifield taking the win despite a seemingly more consistent run by Cavalieri, but wins count and Maifield took 2 and with it the overall win ahead of Cavalieri in 2nd and Team Losi driver Jesse Robbers in 3rd. In Truck mod the top 4 from 2wd mod were repeated with Maifield taking the win ahead of 2nd placed Cavalieri with Jesse Robbers in 3rd and Jared Tebo, as he finished in 2wd buggy mod, in 4th.

UPDATE: Added Team Orion Press release. Hit more for the full info.

View the final Triple A-Main results here… content

March 18, 2007

Scott Hughes Video Biography


Above is a great video biography of top US racer, 2007 Silver State Champ and World Championship finalist, Mugen racer Scott Hughes. This video is a produced in association with the US Pro Cup and the Dirt Racing and gives a great insight into the life of this top driver who also works for Pro Line, in their Marketing department.

March 18, 2007

ZAP H-Energy 4300 and 4500 cells

ZAP H-Energy 4300 and 4500 cells

These Zap H-Energy cells have been mentioned on the internet for a while now and will finally be shipping on the 19th of March. Matched by master mechanic Masaaki Hirosaka, father of multiple World Champion Masami, these Ni-MH cells have been in testing for some time now by utilizing all his experience, Masaaki has been able to produce a cell that lasts longer than similar types and gives instantaneous power and will be made available in 4300 and 4500 mAh versions.

Source: Powers Int []

March 18, 2007

2007 Cactus Classic – Qualifying results

Ryan Cavalieri

This weekend sees the first big international electric off road race of the year, the 21st Annual Cactus Classic race that is taking place at Scottsdale RC Speedway in Arizona. Qualifying is over and its the Ryans that are topping the timing sheets in the modified classes with Associated drivers Ryan Maifield taking the TQ spot in truck mod ahead of Ryan Cavalieri in 2nd and current ROAR National class champion Jared Tebo in 3rd. In buggy mod its Cavalieri that has taken the pole spot ahead of Tebo in 2nd, with Japanese legend Masami Hirosaka driving for Yokomo in 3rd while In 2wd buggy mod its a repeat of the top 3 in truck with Maifield in the pole followed by Cavalieri and Tebo in 2nd and 3rd with British driver, and current World Champion, Neil Cragg in 4th. Racing takes place today, Sunday, and we hope to bring you the results when we get them.

To see the A-final starting orders click here… content

March 17, 2007

Artem Lopukhin wins Rd6 of Russian Micro Racing

Rd6 of Russian Micro Racing

Xray are reporting on the recent 6th round fo the Russian Micro Racing series that took place in Moscow with roughly 50 drivers in attendance. In the touring class solely represented by Xray M18 cars it was Artem Lopukhin driving the M18 Pro that took the win ahead of Dmitry Malyshko using the standard M18 in 2nd with Cyril Kiselyov using the Pro in 3rd. Lopukhin also won the truck class and was the only Xray in the 6 car final.

Source: Xray []

March 17, 2007

D’Orazio and Ciriello sign for Blade Racing

D'Orazio and Ciriello sign for Blade Racing

A few months ago we showed you images of the new BX-1 1/8th scale buggy from Italian company Blade Racing, well now they have announced the first team drivers for this car. Italians Gianluca D’Orazio and Francesco Ciriello have both agreed to race the car for the coming season and will form the official team that will represent the marque at major races.

Source: AOL []