February 11, 2007

TTech Racing changes ownership

TTech Racing

According to the website of the TTech Racing, the company has changed ownership and are now owned by a company called Xtreme-RC. The company that makes the rather unique and very technical looking X10 and XRS 1/10th scale buggies will now be better promoted and will hopefully have the extra cash needed to turn it from small company to major player in the off road RC car industry.

Source: TTech Racing [ttechracing.com]

February 11, 2007

Renaud Savoya wins the 2007 Montpellier GP

2007 Montpellier GP

Renaud Savoya has won the 2007 Montpellier GP after a tough battle with European Champion Yannick Aigoin who finished 2nd. The Mugen driver started the race from the pole spot and after losing out at the start to Aigoin managed to get back into the lead after 35 minutes to finish 11 seconds up on the Xray driver. Jérôme Sartel racing the Crono finished the event in 3rd, while fastest qualifier Nicolas Rodriguez could only bring it home in 6th after some problems in the final.

Click more to see the top ten classification… content

February 11, 2007

Yannick Aigoin switches to GRP tyres

Yannick Aigoin switches to GRP tyres

I guess I’m not as up to date on the tire sponsors as i should be, and in buggies it is quite difficult to follow, as it seems i didnt notice the fact that European Champion and Xray team driver Yannick Aigoin has made the switch from Pro Line tyres to GRP. This news came to everyones attention yesterday as he was seen sporting the new rubber, as well as new GRP team wear, at this weekends Montpellier GP. RB Products, for whom Yannick works import both the Pro Line and GRP ranges of tyres into France.

Image: Ligue13 [ligue13.com]

February 11, 2007

Australian National Offroad Champs – Finals

Matt Griffin

Sunday saw the finals day at the Australian National Offroad Champs and the day that all the the titles were decided. In 1/8th buggy it was Matt Griffin (old picture above) all the way, he dominated through practice and qualifying and won the event comfortably for Kyosho with Zac Ryan taking 2nd position ahead of Justin Millan both racing for Hong Nor. In the truggy class it was Kiwi racer Nathan Toia driving a Hong Nor who took the win, 1 lap ahead of Brad Gale driving a Mugen and Craig Laughton racing for Hot Bodies in 3rd. In the Stadium truck class it was Craig Laughton who took the win ahead of Ron Mya and Zac Ryan rounding off the podium in 3rd position.

You can get the full results from the event here.

Source: Rube Dude [rubeduderc.com]

February 10, 2007

Nico Rodriguez TQ’s 2007 Montpellier GP

Nico Rodriguez TQ's Montpellier GP

Crono driver Nicolas Rodriguez has taken the top qualifying spot for the Montpellier GP, the opening off road race of the European season, in the south of France today. The Falcon powered driver managed to out qualify European Champion and Xray team driver Yannick Aigoin who in turn managed to keep Mugen racer Renaud Savoya behind him in third. The main race will take place tomorrow, Sunday, and we will bring you the results when we get them.

To see the qualifying top 10 go here… content

February 10, 2007

Zack Barry wins 1/18th Race of Champions

Zack Barry

In the warmup race for the 1/18th scale off road Race of Champions held at RC Madness in Enfield, Conneticut in the end of January, Zack Barry dominated the event driving an Xray M18. Zack had troubles in qualifying but managed to pull it together and take the pole in both classes and then went on to win in both classes too.

Zack entered in two different classes, running his Xray M18T in 4wd truck class , and his M18MT in the mini-monster class. In the first round of qualifying he had a rough time , not completing either race. In the second round ,he came back and set the TQ in both classes , and had the only 20 lap run of the entire event [in any class] with his M18T. Zack went on to take home the first place trophies in both classes.

Source: Xray [teamxray.com]

February 10, 2007

Australian National Offroad Champs – Saturday

Australian National Offroad Champs

Once again our partners Rubedude have an update from the Australian National Offroad Champs from Shepparton, Victoria. With all qualifying done and the lower finals complete and no major surprises have been reported with the fast guys from yesterday still quick today, despite the wind picking up.

Check out the full results and final placings from the event here.

Source: Rube Dude [rubeduderc.com]

February 9, 2007

Australian National Offroad Champs – Qualifying

Australian gas off road Nats

Our partner site RubeDude have a report from todays first rounds of qualfying for the Australian National Offroad Champs held in Shepparton, Victoria. After another scorching day at the track it is Matt Griffin who is heading the standings in the buggy class with only 1 round of qualifying left to do, with Ari Bakla in second with his TM M1B and not much further behind are Martin Wolhuter and Craig Laughton in 3rd and 4th driving a Hong Nor and Hot Bodies respectively. In the truggy class, Martin Wolhuter has a slender margin ahead of Justin Millan and Logan Bruecher whilst in the Stadium trucks Craig Laughton tops the leader board from Ron Maya and Zac Ryan.

Read the full report from todays, and also yesterdays, action here.

Source: Rube Dude [rubeduderc.com]