February 12, 2018

Ki Heung Kim wins at 2018 SRCC race

The 2018 SRCC race was held at the GRC track in South Korea this past weekend. In the Formula class Ki Heung Kim (Shepherd) took the win with Shepherd teammates Giu Jin Lee and Jae Kuk Yoo completing the podium in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Source: Shepherd [team-shepherd.com]

February 12, 2018

BRCA GT12 South East regional series – Report

The BRCA GT12 South East regional series started back in November and it visited some of the best clubs in the UK’s South East region and attracted drivers of all abilities. The final and deciding round was held last Sunday at the excellent West Kent Club. GT12 being the main class and with great attendance across the events and clubs and offering support classes of 12th scale LMP, Touring Cars and Tamiya Mini the meetings were full and had an excellent atmosphere. In GT12 not only was the A-final hotly contended but all finals were very close with great racing. After 4 events Niall Cochran would take the Championship with a perfect 300 score, 2nd was Steven Moore and 3rd was Gavin Clinch. It was great to have juniors in the mix also the top 3 being Harriet Cracker 1st (12th), Joe Moore 2nd (16th) and Joe Barry 3rd (22nd) (overall championship position). The full championship results can be found here.

View the Juniors top 3 podium here

February 12, 2018

Joe Pillars wins at PDX Underground Ketchup Series Rd3

Round 3 of the PDX Underground Ketchup Series was held this past weekend and in the 2WD Modified Buggy class it was Yokomo’s Joe Pillars with the TQ and win in the 2WD Modified Buggy class. TLR driver, Jeremy Howard came in 2nd, some 16 seconds down while Shannon Houfek (Xray) rounded out the top 3 podium result.

Source: Yokomo [teamyokomo.com]

February 12, 2018

Nicholas Lee wins Race the Roof Friday

The Race the Roof Friday 2WD Buggy Bash race was held last Friday at the Urban PlaySpace rooftop outdoor track high above the city of Singapore and it was late entry, Nicholas Lee, who took the win. Running the rocket round qualifying format, Esmail Apandi secured the TQ by some two seconds over Nicholas Lee. Jody Long qualified 3rd, while Dominic Quek took the last direct A-main spot in 4th. In the finals, Fazly Ibrahim and Andrew Tow bumped-up from the B-Main to make the 6-car A-main. In A1, Jody Long came through from P3 to take the win ahead of Nicholas and Esmail. In A2, Esmail secured a convincing win ahead of Nicholas, with Jody in 3rd. This set the stage for an exciting A3. Pole-sitter Esmail had to fend of hard-charging Dominic for the lead in the early part of the race, with Nicholas close behind in 3rd. In a well executed pass, Dominic took over the lead from Esmail who then lost 2nd to Nicholas with a mistake later on. Just when it looked like there would be a 3rd different winner in the A-main, an unfortunately marshalling incident saw a flipped car placed in the path of leader, Dominic. This allowed Nicholas to go through and eventually seal the win. Esmail finished in 2nd while Jody came through for 3rd. Dominic Quek, Fazly Ibrahim and Andrew Tow completed the A-main results.

Source: Urban PlaySpace [facebook.com]

February 12, 2018

Yeah Racing TRX-4 brass & aluminium options

Coming from Yeah Racing and made for the popular Traxxas TRX-4 trail truck are new brass and aluminium option parts. First up is a complete set of brass suspension upgrades that includes a pair of steering knuckles, C-hubs, four wheel hex adapters as well as a pair of portal axle covers and mounting hardware. The parts add a combined 324g to one of the lowest areas of the chassis, something that will greatly improve traction and climbing performance. All parts come in a shiny natural finish. Also new is an aluminium rear frame brace that will improve the structural integrity of the chassis. The brace will replace the standard composite item for greatly improved rigidity and durability. Machined from black anodised aluminium the brace also sports machined silver edge details for cool looks.

View the frame brace here

February 12, 2018

RC Speed Secrets Next Level 1.6+1.7 12mm shock pistons

RC Speed Secrets have introduced their new Next Level 1.6+1.7 12mm Cheater shock pistons for Team Associated, TLR and Yokomo 1/10th off-road kits. They are machined from high-quality material for a perfect fit and sport a split 2-hole 1.6mm and 1.7mm setup for improved damping performance. The 4-piece sets are available specifically for AE, TLR and Yokomo kits.

Source: RC Speed Secrets [rcspeedsecrets.com]

February 12, 2018

Robert Batlle wins Montpellier GP

The annual Montpellier GP, European season opener for the 1/8th off-road class, was held in France this past weekend. As usual the event attracted most of Europe’s 1/8th off-road aces and it was Italy’s Riccardo Berton (Kyosho) who would take the overall TQ courtesy of winning the opening three qualifiers. Spain’s Juan Carlos Canas (Mugen) would come in 2nd after the qualifiers. In the main final it was the duo of Davide Ongaro and Juan Carlos Canas who obtained the top spots, however from the depth of the field it was Mugen’s Robert Batlle who was after a fourth Montpellier win and so he would keep his head down and ultimately was able to get past the duo of Juan and Davide who weren’t able to challenge Robert. In the end Batlle would take the win from Juan Carlos 2nd and Davide 3rd as Riccardo Berton and David Ronnefalk (HB Racing) rounded out the top 3 podium result.

Image: Circus RC [circusrc.com]

February 12, 2018

Infinity Prostock Series Rd1 & Rd2 – Report

The TRAP RC Venue in South Africa played host to the first and second round of their 3-race Infinity Prostock Series for Touring Modified, Touring Stock and Formula classes. The Touring Modified round 1 A-Main saw current South-African champ, Hein Kotze (Xray) leading the way to grab the TQ and win for the day. Former champ Jason Hillcoat (Infinity) had a rough time looking for the perfect setup. He only managed 6th in qualifying but would recover in the A-main to take the overall runner-up spot. Ashley Hurley kept Hein honest in qualifying but had to leave when the main races started. Antonio Caroli (Xray) managed a 3rd overall in the race.

Continue reading the report here